1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bios CPU Fan warnings. I disagree...

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by Rednut05, 19 Jan 2006.

  1. Rednut05

    Banned

    Joined: 1 Aug 2005

    Posts: 909

    Hey,

    I have an Asus A8N-Sli Deluxe mobo and yesterday I loaded up my computer to have a bios warning, warning me that my CPU fan wasn't spining fast enough or not at all.

    So I turn the computer off. Side panel comes off. turn it back on and it's spinning, and it looks to be spinning fast enough. Doesn't appear to be a slow spin.

    So today I took it off, cleaned dust off it (not much to be honest) and re mounted it. Checked the fittings etc...

    Still got the same problem. Now I have sourced another 80mm CPU fan off the familys Packard Bell computer and I have fitted this.

    Now when I boot up this fan also gets a warning but it doesn't on the PB pc and has been working on there for 6 years now!?

    So I'm currently using my computer. Monitoring the temp's on Everest and I am getting a constant 30 Degrees C and the computer has been runnning for 15 minutes now?

    So I was wondering. As both fans appear to be working...could the CPU fan sensor be broken?

    I hadn't been poking around with ths computer before the messaged appeared but its an answer off the top of my head.

    I've already had to replace the northbridge fan because that went bad. That also seemed to be a common problem. Does anyone know if this mobo has reliability issues?

    Cheers.
     
  2. derbyjake

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Nov 2005

    Posts: 425

    Location: Derbyshire UK

    a freind has the same board and suffered same problem he rma'd it
     
  3. leezer3

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Jan 2006

    Posts: 2,930

    Location: Norwich

    The broken sensor is a very probable cause. Have you tried having a look at Speedfan- This should give you both the temps and the fan RPM.
    I would expect that there should also be an option in the BIOS to monitor the fan RPM & turn off this warning?
    Final point, have you connected the fan using the same ('Correct') cable- I'm not sure on this but there may only be fan speed sensor cables on some of the cables but not others.

    -Leezer-
     
  4. Arcane

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Aug 2005

    Posts: 3,639

    Location: Ealing, London

    Have the fan's you've been using got 3 or 2 wires?
     
  5. Si MPS

    Hitman

    Joined: 20 Jun 2004

    Posts: 894

    Location: Manchester

    My old Abit AN7 did this all the time, i ended up just disabling the monitor, it annoyed the hell out of me.
     
  6. Rednut05

    Banned

    Joined: 1 Aug 2005

    Posts: 909

    3 wires. White Red Black.

    So you think I should turn it back or at least ring up and ask for a new fan or something.

    Looking on Everest, it is acturally running slow. 959RPM atm and 34 Degree's. So its still okay to run. As long as I keep monitoring temps.

    So looks like a nagging phone call.
     
  7. harris1986

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Aug 2005

    Posts: 2,684

    i experience the same probs man :( my mobo won't even detect the chipset fan spinning!
     
  8. Rednut05

    Banned

    Joined: 1 Aug 2005

    Posts: 909

    So what did you do my boyo? Bang it in the post asking for a new one?
     
  9. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,278

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    It's not the fan sensor then, or the cables - if you can see it on Everest, it's all working hardware wise. What kind of cpu fan is it?
     
  10. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,278

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    Ok - I've just downloaded the manual and on page 4-38 there is the option to enable or disable the Q-Fan function.

    Have you tried disabling that and did it make any difference?

    If that doesn't work then try adjusting the Q-Fan temperatures as described on Page 4-39.
     
  11. Rednut05

    Banned

    Joined: 1 Aug 2005

    Posts: 909

    Q-Fans not running. I've set the CPU fan warning to 800RPM now and it warned me when I turned it on a while ago.

    But it didn't warn me when I turned it on 5 minutes ago. Fans running at 898RPM :(

    I'll get on the blower tomorrow.