1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BOINC won't utilise my GPU. Any ideas?

Discussion in 'Team OcUK Distributed Computing Projects' started by Acme, 12 Oct 2012.

  1. Acme

    Caporegime

    Joined: 29 Jul 2011

    Posts: 34,856

    Location: Sussex

    I have a rig set up to fold 24/7 (with the exception of when I use it for LAN games very very occasionally)

    The specs are:

    Core 2 Duo E8200 @ 2.66GHz (has overclocking problems that I am trying to remedy) w' Asus Royal Knight

    4GB Crucial 1066MHz DDR3

    Gigabyte P41T-D3

    Asus 8800GTS G80 320MB


    The BOINC supported GPU list has my GPU listed, however when I tell BOINC to use the GPU (even when system is active) the GPU remains at around 0% usage as normal whereas the CPU sits at 100%.

    Any ideas?

    Cheers guys :)
     
  2. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 30 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,612

    Location: Surrey

    What project are you running? Not all of them use the GPU and some have very specific requirements as to what GPU they will run on.
     
  3. Grimgoth

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Nov 2004

    Posts: 663

    Location: London

    Also check that you have got the speeds of the card rock stable; i know [email protected] has a limit to the number of work units that you are given, and that gets reduced if you keep returning bad wu- and a bad graphics card can return like 20 bad wu's in a blink of an eye if you weren't looking.
     
  4. Acme

    Caporegime

    Joined: 29 Jul 2011

    Posts: 34,856

    Location: Sussex

    I am running [email protected]

    The card is overclocked to 650MHz on the core and 2000MHz on the memory, it is totally stable judging by its performance on MSI Kombuster. Never goes above 84*C on Kombuster using my custom fan profile either.

    I tried [email protected], that uses the GPU just fine. So for the past little while I have been running [email protected] and [email protected] at the same time. (Rosetta on CPU, Folding on GPU)
     
    Last edited: 12 Oct 2012
  5. derv

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,068

    Location: Kent

    Rosetta is CPU only. As you have an NVidia card you would get good performance crunching something like SETI.
     
  6. Acme

    Caporegime

    Joined: 29 Jul 2011

    Posts: 34,856

    Location: Sussex

    Ahh Ok, thanks a lot :)

    I have [email protected] using GPU only now anyway, so there are two clients running at once.