1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BT Infinity & FTTx Discussion

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by michellez, 8 Feb 2011.

  1. digitalwolf

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Mar 2004

    Posts: 3,569

    Location: England

  2. Ur round next

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Nov 2009

    Posts: 2,392

    Location: Norfolk

    Im on BT Fibre. Im getting 27 Mb down and 8Mb up. id give my left arm for double the speed im getting...im very jealous of you guys hitting 900+
     
  3. vail3r

    Hitman

    Joined: 28 Feb 2009

    Posts: 550

    Reset the smart hub a few times and now getting the full 110 upload speed so pretty happy!
     
  4. faceman123

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jun 2011

    Posts: 2,936

    Don't be. The only real difference is game downloads, other than that, enjoy
     
  5. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Oct 2006

    Posts: 73,566

    Not really jealous of those getting 900+ but having moved from having a couple of 80/20 lines to a single approx. 30/6 FTTC connection it is painful - even supplementing it with 4G:

    https://www.speedtest.net/result/9910747424.png

    I'd still be far happier with a 80/20 connection. But as before I'm lucky to even have this here - all the surrounding areas are having a good day if they are getting 3Mbit on their ADSL :(
     
  6. ic1male

    Caporegime

    Joined: 28 Oct 2003

    Posts: 28,558

    Location: Westchestershire

    Does anyone know the rough timescale from when the dalek-like boxes on the telegraph poles start appearing to when you can actually place an order?
     
  7. Ur round next

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Nov 2009

    Posts: 2,392

    Location: Norfolk

    some games now are 100GB download + these days and with Microsoft Flight sim 2020 coming out soon my conection speed at 27MB/sec is not cutting it these days
     
  8. robj20

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 9 Apr 2007

    Posts: 9,806

    For me it was about 12 months.
     
  9. digitalwolf

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Mar 2004

    Posts: 3,569

    Location: England

    Thought about possibly looking at a 4G solution?
     
  10. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,128

    I wouldn’t want to bet on a 4G service delivering consistently better performance than 27Mbps
     
  11. Strikeforce

    Hitman

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 670

    It was only about a month on my road.
     
  12. Roost

    Associate

    Joined: 7 Jun 2012

    Posts: 22

    All the roads surrounding my cul-de-sac have all had the poles upgraded in the last couple of weeks and are already showing on the Fibre First checker as FTTP available. The pole in our cul-de-sac hasn't been touched, so no FTTP here yet :(
     
  13. ic1male

    Caporegime

    Joined: 28 Oct 2003

    Posts: 28,558

    Location: Westchestershire

    Oooh, I had a look on the website you mention. The road behind mine is saying FTTP is available to those addresses. Mine isn't. But time must be drawing near...

    Then I remember I've still got 6 months contract with Sky to go yet. :(
     
  14. david25

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Mar 2005

    Posts: 914

    Hello everyone,

    If I post a pic of the wiring behind my master socket, will someone be able to comment if it looks "right"?

    Compared to other online pics I've found it looks different i.e. the wires seem to go up, possibly to an upstairs extension (not used).

    Thanks
     
  15. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: 19 May 2012

    Posts: 12,030

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

    Post away - should be easy to tell
     
  16. digitalwolf

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Mar 2004

    Posts: 3,569

    Location: England

    Depends what kits on your local mast.
     
  17. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,128

    I've just done a little experiment as a relative asked me for help and then swore blind that I was wrong about the services available to people. I think there's a real need for some sort of multi-network availability checker that actually works - Ofcom tell people to go off and use price comparison sites, so I did that with where I live currently. I went to Google and searched "broadband price comparison", and picked all the non-sponsored results from the first page. I think I've covered most of the UK market with this.

    For reference, it's a street with about 20 houses on. Half of them have access to Virgin Media, the other half do not. Ofcom's own address data is accurate, and going to Virgin Media's website direct gives accurate results. The only broadband option at my address is Openreach FTTC and ADSL. There is no FTTP and no G.fast.

    Out of all the sites, only one asked for an address rather than simply running a postcode search. GoCompare seem to have by far the worst system as they will always present BT FTTP and EE G.fast as options, as well as Virgin Media if VM exists anywhere in the postcode.

    [​IMG]

    So while I think people should check for broadband availability before they move house, obviously there's no point checking any of the price comparison sites. Just for reference I've checked an address that I know is in the middle of nowhere, and GoCompare is just churning out complete crap:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  18. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: 29 Dec 2002

    Posts: 6,266

    This is the networking sub forum on OCUK, you’d hope the people likely to be reading this are generally going to understand why price is not a meaningful basis of comparison when it comes to network connectivity, you’d also hope they understand that a price comparison site is the last place you go, they’re just stealing your TCB/Quidco commission. It should be stating the obvious to say if you aren’t checking samknows/OR/VM and any altnet/wisp operating in the area and using full address info, you’re wasting your time.
     
  19. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,128

    There's a huge issue around discoverability of altnets though which really could do with being addressed. Ofcom see selecting a provider as being an area where price comparison sites can help they even have an accreditation scheme for some(https://www.ofcom.org.uk/phones-tel...-consumers/costs-and-billing/price-comparison), they are just using crap data. This issue then compounds itself when estate agents partner with the price comparison sites to provide estimated internet speeds available at properties, and present the same garbage data to people.

    I recently had a requirement to see what connectivity was available at a location and I consider myself fairly good at finding this sort of stuff out. First step was to get an accurate address sorted, everything looked like the best option was FTTC. The Ofcom checker was showing 900 Mbps symmetrical available but their checker doesn't expose what providers are offering it. It turns out that it was a business-park specific service operated by M12 (Giganet) but the only way I found this out was by seeing a CityFibre deployment close by, seeing Giganet were one of their partners and putting the postcode into their site.

    This data obviously exists because Ofcom use it to report on superfast/ultrafast/sub-10Mbps coverage, I guess they feel that it's not their job to tell you which providers to approach.
     
    Last edited: 17 Aug 2020
  20. david25

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Mar 2005

    Posts: 914

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    This does give you any idea? Thanks
     
  21. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: 29 Dec 2002

    Posts: 6,266

    That looks normal - you have an active pair on blue/light blue, any extension feed would come from the points on the left (5,3,2), so the rest of the pairs are likely unused.