1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BT Infinity & FTTx Discussion

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by michellez, 8 Feb 2011.

  1. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2008

    Posts: 11,903

    No modem configuration required and it doesn’t need to be unlocked.

    You create a PPPoE connection on the router.
     
  2. Terrier_Jimlad

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Nov 2006

    Posts: 2,729

    Location: Yorkshire

    If I remember rightly, unlocking the HG612 mainly just gives you the extra stats ability. As far as the setup goes, HG612 in to the master socket, cat5 to the UDM Pro, then in the WAN connection in UniFi, set the connection type to PPPoE, put "[email protected]" as the username, password can be blank or random, save settings and walla.

    Yup, will put their hub back on, can't imagine it would make much difference, the line has been rock solid since Nov, just past two weeks
     
  3. Nutty_Death

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Apr 2004

    Posts: 834

    Thanks, just checked and that seems nice and simple to do.
     
  4. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: 19 May 2012

    Posts: 12,478

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

    1am is the usual time that DLM works iirc. So it's likely DLM has detected a high enough error rate that it's forced a resync at a lower speed.

    Could be anything but especially including effects of recent rain/snow on old copper lines
     
  5. thewanted

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jul 2007

    Posts: 5,314

    I got an ECI 061513 Type 1B modem yesterday but I'm starting to think I've made a boo-boo because apparently they don't support G.INP and I've lost 10mbit on my download sync.

    Should I have got a Huawei HG612 3B instead?
     
  6. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2008

    Posts: 11,903

    The HG612 was always the preferred option.

    On my connection, both types of modem work about the same. Certainly no difference like that.
     
  7. Zico

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Jan 2003

    Posts: 4,917

    Location: South East

    If you're connected to an ECI cabinet then you're very unlikely to have G.INP enabled as Openreach have trialled G.INP on ECI cabinets (multiple times over the years) with limited success. Huawei cabinets are predominantly enabled for G.INP and would be best paired with the Huawei modem.

    https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.p...al-on-eci-fttc-broadband-lines-hits-snag.html

    https://kitz.co.uk/adsl/fttc-cabinets.htm
     
    Last edited: 17 Feb 2021
  8. Type_R

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,134

    Location: EGBB

    Thinking of switching to FTTP 900 on BT - now that it is available in Solihull!

    Only concern is the rest of the setup if Unifi with a USG currently connected to the SH3 on VM 200. I guess I’ll have to purchase another modem to make my setup work on BT?
     
  9. BigT

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,273

    Location: UK

    I think you'll just plug your USG into the ONT port that they'll install. No need to purchase anything else.
     
  10. ChrisD.

    Caporegime

    Joined: 20 Sep 2006

    Posts: 26,168

    Correct.
     
  11. the-evaluator

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Sep 2015

    Posts: 2,647

    You'll need to tell the USG to create a PPPoE session. Here's a screenshot from mine, the setting is in Settings -> Networks -> Edit WAN in the classic settings.
    [​IMG]

    Username - Anything you like really, mine is [email protected]
    Password - Anything you like, I think mine is password.
     
  12. thewanted

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jul 2007

    Posts: 5,314

    Thanks for the info :)

    I am a complete dummy. I already had a TP-Link W9970 router/modem combo which I didn't even think to check if it works in modem-only mode (which it does) before I bought the ECI modem.

    I've switched out the ECI for the TP-Link because I know it can hold a connection like a champ for months on end, and it support G.INP. I'm using the Plusnet router but plan on swapping it with something better like a Mikrotik soon.
     
  13. Type_R

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,134

    Location: EGBB

    Will this not lead to double NAT as the smart hub 2 can’t be put into modem mode or have I missed something?
     
  14. VaderDSL

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,554

    Location: Manchester

    You get rid of the SH, goes ONT straight into USG I believe
     
  15. Type_R

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,134

    Location: EGBB

    I didn’t realise they install a modem to which the smart hub 2 connects. If that’s the case then it sounds pretty straight forward thanks!
     
  16. the-evaluator

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Sep 2015

    Posts: 2,647

    Yep.
     
  17. Type_R

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,134

    Location: EGBB

    this is really useful for future ref thanks. Will wait for a decent cashback offer before ordering.
     
  18. Wizzkidy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Jun 2003

    Posts: 1,658

    I have been waiting for my Fibre 500 from Zen since December the 18th, originally the date for install was 11th January which the engineer came out and performed the outside part of the install but wouldn't come into the house.

    It got rearranged for 22nd February, now I get an email saying its been delayed again until 26th April! That much delay for an engineer to spend 1 hour in my living room?

    Other services are continuing during this pandemic, including boiler repairs and maintenance, car servicing. Why can't Openreach have an engineer in my house taking precautions, like face mask, open windows, empty room.

    This is very annoying!
     
  19. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,292

    Because you getting a faster internet connection when you already have a superfast service isn't an essential task, whereas ensuring people have access to hot water and a safe vehicle is. If you currently have a slow broadband service then they are progressing the in-home FTTP appointments.
     
  20. Cuchulain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Dec 2004

    Posts: 7,627

    Location: Derry