1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Budget Spec Pls

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by holymoly, 16 May 2006.

  1. holymoly

    Associate

    Joined: 12 May 2006

    Posts: 21

    Hi all,

    Am attempting to put together a system for my kid and he has £250 to spend. :rolleyes:

    He has a case, powersupply, kettle lead (haha),monitor, keyboard, mouse and headphones already.

    Would like to go 939 and pci express so that future upgrades are possible.

    Thanks.

    My 1st post :D
     
    Last edited: 16 May 2006
  2. IwantanewPC

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 389

    What is it going to be used for?

    Games?
     
  3. SiriusB

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,448

    Location: Manchester

    Is the budget 250? Or are you gonna be a great parent and put 100 quid to it for a graphics card :p

    SiriusB
     
  4. kmistry

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,089

    Location: Leicester

    hehe, yeah welcome to the forums :D

    and what is the computer to be used for ? and be a good parent :p
     
  5. Foehammer2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2006

    Posts: 981

    Location: Arms reach from mouse

    hi! welcome!

    What case and power supply have you currently got?
     
  6. holymoly

    Associate

    Joined: 12 May 2006

    Posts: 21

    Hi,

    Im gonna teach them to be good and earn their graphics card :) lots of lawns to be cut and cars to be washed.
    All they really play is cs 1.6 cs:s, cod.
    So yes mainly gonna be used for games... and they dont need to powerfull a Gcard to run those.

    The case is a beige one that i got from work and the powersupply is a Q-TEC 450W which sounds like a jet engine.

    Thanks guys. :)
     
  7. Foehammer2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2006

    Posts: 981

    Location: Arms reach from mouse

    Hi, this is the first time i have done a full spec for anyone, but seeing as no one else has thus far here goes... I'm assuming the case you have is ATX, is that right?

    Apologies if i have got any of this wrong, hopefully someone else will look through (no doubt) and amend. I would suggest getting a new power supply though... search these forums for q-tec psu's and you will find a trail of woe. The last thing you want is for it to go KABOOM! and they do, which is fine, but not when they take the rest of your equipment with it!


    CP-117-AM AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice 90nm (Socket 939) - Retail (ADA3000BPBOX) (CP-117-AM)
    £65.95 £65.95
    MB-002-AK Asrock 939Dual-SATA2 (Socket 939 & Upgradable to AM2) AGP & PCI-Express Motherboard (MB-002-AK)
    £36.95 £36.95
    MY-004-OK OcUK Value 1GB (2x512MB) PC3200 184pin DDR Memory Dual Channel Kit (MY-004-OK)
    £47.95 £47.95
    CD-019-SO Sony CRX320EE CDRW/DVD Combi Drive (Beige) - OEM (CD-019-SO)
    £15.95 £15.95
    HD-051-SE Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 80GB ST3808110AS SATA-II 8MB Cache - OEM (HD-051-SE)
    £29.95 £29.95
    GX-037-GW Gainward BLISS GeForce 7300 GS 256MB DDR2 TV-Out/DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (471846200-7661) (GX-037-GW)
    £41.95 £41.95
    Subtotal £238.70
    Shipping (City Link Parcel Next Day (Delivered Mon-Fri)) £8.95
    VAT £43.34
    Total £290.99


    So about fourty quid over your budget... cant seem to get much cheaper than that, and that graphics isnt great either, but give headroom for upgrading and also missing the PSU.. which i really do think you'd be better off getting.

    If you do decide to get a new PSU then ask the guys here, unfortunately i dont know much in the way of reliable to price ratio Power supplies.

    Dunno if that helps or hinders... but there it is! :D
     
  8. holymoly

    Associate

    Joined: 12 May 2006

    Posts: 21

    Thanks,

    I heard that qtec are wick, I been using it for about 1 year now with no probs but I would only end up having to buy new system if it does.
    So will look at that aswell.
    My m8 has been specing me one aswell so will post that up moro so you lot can advise on that aswell.

    thanks again :D
     
  9. xirokx

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Oct 2004

    Posts: 4,383

    Location: N.W London

    if you got rid of that 7300 gfx card and changed the mobo to an asus csv cm something or other you wont need a seperate gfx card as that mobo comes with a 6250 gfx card....

    the only thing that mobo does not have is tv/out but the adaptor is like £20

    also you will save around £20 as well

    your call just wanted to present the option to ya....

    good luck
     
  10. trojan698

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,484

    Location: Edinburgh

    CP-131-AM AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice 90nm (Socket 939) - OEM (CP-131-AM)
    £68.95 £68.95
    MB-087-AB Abit KN8 Ultra nForce4 Ultra (Socket 939) PCI-Express Motherboard (MB-087-AB)
    £49.95 £49.95
    MY-005-GL GeIL 1GB (2x512MB) PC3200 Value Dual Channel Kit CAS2.5 (GE1GB3200BHDC) (MY-005-GL)
    £49.95 £49.95
    GX-080-XF XFX GeForce 7600 GS 256MB DDR2 TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (PVT73P-UDL3) (GX-080-XF)
    £74.95 £74.95
    Subtotal £243.80
    Shipping (City Link Parcel Next Day (Delivered Mon-Fri)) £8.25
    VAT £44.11
    Total £296.16


    £46 over budget but hey.

    /edit - and no drives :o
     
  11. NightSt@lk3r

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 7,682

    Location: Wiltshire

    take cover is all i can say :p , i would get that replaced ASAP!