1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Buying from the States

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by cymatty, 17 Jun 2006.

  1. cymatty

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 13,305

    Location: South Yorkshire

    After AMD drops its prices soon, my grandma will be going to America to visit her friend. I am currently looking at getting a X2 4600 shipped to her house for when my grandma arrives, at this point I think they will be around the £160 mark. Are CPU prices much different in the states than over here?

    What are the potential drawbacks of buying a CPU from the states? If it breaks, what will the return policy be?

    Oh... I'm not worried about customs (I know they don't like 'funny looking chips') as I doubt they'll stop an 80 year old woman :D
     
  2. andyp

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 31 May 2005

    Posts: 1,628

    Location: South Yorkshire

    I got my mobile A64 4000 shipped from Los Angeles for £170 - all-in, ie. including postage and packing, and insurance. The same CPU was listed at one UK online retailer for £220, not including delivery or insurance.
     
  3. cymatty

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 13,305

    Location: South Yorkshire

    Cheers for that. It should work cheaper for me then seeing as how I'm getting it shipped to an address in the states. :)
     
  4. ashmanq

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Mar 2006

    Posts: 298

    Location: Scotland

    Hmm now im thinking of getting my next cpu from the states lol :D
     
  5. Gashman

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Mar 2006

    Posts: 4,379

    Location: Jarrow, Tyne And Wear

    i thought when you got something shipped over from US they bummed you with import tax and other ludacris rubbish, or am i wrongly informed?
     
  6. trojan698

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,484

    Location: Edinburgh

    If it's marked as a gift, they cant enforce import taxes.
     
  7. cymatty

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 13,305

    Location: South Yorkshire

    Sometimes they do, but i am hoping to aviod this by using a little old lady to put it in her case. :eek: :)
     
  8. Kezmo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Apr 2006

    Posts: 2,211

    Location: Northampton

    yea load granny up tbh :D
     
  9. Angilion

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 5 Dec 2003

    Posts: 18,767

    Location: Just to the left of my PC

    They are Her Majesty's Customs and Excise. They're now in with the Inland Revenue. The two most powerful organisations in the country merged. There isn't much they can't do.

    I've read that members of the SAS are sometimes given false ID as customs officials when working in the UK because that will allow them to go nearly anywhere, do nearly anything and avoid nearly all scrutiny, all in a quiet, discreet, unchallenged way. I think that's plausible.



    There are limits to what can be imported as a tax-exempt gift. I don't recall what they are off the top of my head, but I have a rough memory of a value limit of £50 for the "gift".
     
  10. TLJester1

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Mar 2004

    Posts: 211

    Location: Canterbury - Kent

    That, and I belive 2nd hand items - though dobnt quote me on that.
     
  11. Vertigo1

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Dec 2003

    Posts: 15,395

    That's for items which are being imported via post or courier, not items you bring in personally. In addition, simply marking the item as a gift doesn't mean they "can't enforce" taxes as they can decide you're lying and charge you for whatever they feel the value of the item is.

    When bringing items in there's a set limit of value beyond which you are charged VAT and possibly duty. I think this is around the £145 mark but don't quote me. As soon as the value exceeds this you're liable for taxes on the whole amount, not just the part above the limit.
     
  12. 4Qman

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Dec 2005

    Posts: 914

    Location: UK

    My family live in the US, ive had my sis bring bits back when she goes to see them.

    She orders them from Newegg, then when they arrive she just puts them in the case with a letter, Saying they are gifts and she has contacted the Custom dept which said it was ok to have them in the case.

    Which she did also, done this 2wice now. First time i brought a 3800X2,OCZ DDR600 ram and some other little bits. Told customs they were gifts they said just add a letter to the case with the bits and thats it. As they open the case when its checked in to check for dangerous items.

    At the end of the day as above said they can sting u for tax but the odds are your be ok. If your that worried dich the boxes and if the pull her she can say she brought them 2nd had and are worth half the real cost.

    Good luck.
     
  13. stoofa

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Mar 2003

    Posts: 12,133

    Location: Chatteris

    Complete and utter tosh.
     
  14. Heartless_King

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Jan 2005

    Posts: 632

    Location: London, UK

    What do you mean add a letter?
     
  15. cymatty

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 13,305

    Location: South Yorkshire

    Ok next question, would i notice a lot of difference between a a64 [email protected] 2.6, and a X2 4600? :)
     
  16. sgoaty

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,231

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    I would say go for the 4400+ over a 4600+ as the 4400+ has more L2 cache (1mb as opposed to 512kb) and will probably clock better but yes your system should feel nippier and it will be especially fast once you get it clocked
     
  17. trojan698

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,484

    Location: Edinburgh

    I stand corrected, several times over :)
     
  18. cymatty

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 13,305

    Location: South Yorkshire

    Well i am looking at the 4600 as it will be greatly reduced in price where as the 4400 will not be.

    4600 = $301
    4400 = $470

    http://images.dailytech.com/nimage/1779_large_full_pricing.png

    So to me the 4600 seems to be the better bet? :)
     
  19. Heartless_King

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Jan 2005

    Posts: 632

    Location: London, UK

    Yes I would say so, I will be going for one of those. Afterall as most people say the extra cache isnt that much a biggy :)
     
  20. cymatty

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 13,305

    Location: South Yorkshire

    Well not for an extra £80.