1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

buzzzzzing

Discussion in 'Sound City' started by tres, 15 Oct 2009.

  1. tres

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Oct 2007

    Posts: 7,075

    Location: UK

    Dear all,


    In-law's have a basic PC connected via 5m VGA & 3.5mm phone cable to a 32" Toshiba LCD.

    Picture is great, but the tv buzzes (only with PC sound input) Using VLC player to boost the volume to 200% does help a bit, but it's still there.

    Might this be the rubbish on board sound? too long a cable? rubbish quality cable? interference on cable?

    Many thanks
     
  2. PistolPete

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Sep 2008

    Posts: 3,993

    Location: By the sea, West Sussex


    Could be any of these, I'd try a different, better quality cable as see if that works.
     
  3. MikeHunt79

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Jan 2004

    Posts: 20,833

    Location: ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    sounds like a ground loop, try an optical input if possible

    does your TV have a ground lift switch?
     
  4. tres

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Oct 2007

    Posts: 7,075

    Location: UK

    TV doesn't have an opitcal in unfortunately.

    What's a ground lift switch?
     
  5. MikeHunt79

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Jan 2004

    Posts: 20,833

    Location: ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    some amps have a switch which isolates the power earth from the audio ground... Can be useful if you have a ground loop...

    If your onboard sound has some form of digital out, pick up an external DAC, as the onboard DAC will leave a lot to be desired. This should fix things. It does not have to be a high end one, as TV speakers aren't exactly amazing, in fact picking up a cheap tripath and and cheap 2nd hand bookshelve speakers would give much nicer sound, but you may not have the space for this... If you do, you could maybe get the DAC/amp/speakers for under £100 if you want to save some dosh, or spend £1000 if you're feeling flush. ;)
     
  6. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,023

    5 metres shouldn't be a problem for running unbalanced audio unless you've got a lot of RF around. Try something like an iPod at the other end of the cable and see if you still get the problem, it could be noise being picked up inside the PC.
     
  7. AtaRo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Aug 2008

    Posts: 1,901

    If the pc sound does not make this noise when using a pc speaker then its probably the 5m audio cable is causing it picking up noise along the way.Try a quality properly shielded audio cable.