1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bye Bye HP, Hello OcUK!

Discussion in 'Team OcUK Distributed Computing Projects' started by tobefrank, 17 May 2006.

  1. tobefrank

    Associate

    Joined: 13 May 2006

    Posts: 9

    Not long till slot 50 in FAH is ours!
     
  2. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 30 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,573

    Location: Surrey

    We rock!

    Oh Folding.. er.. umm.. yeah we rock! :D
     
  3. rich99million

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 26 Dec 2002

    Posts: 9,348

    Location: Derbyshire

    hurrah top 50!!! :)


    way to go team - another stomp coming at the weekend too by the looks of things :cool:
     
  4. happytechie

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,601

    Location: Surrey

    go guys. A top 50 is SUCH an improvement to where we were 12 months or so ago. We have more folders and the people who are folding are putting more hardware and effort into getting lots of results out.

    I might even come back to the dark side......

    Are those memory eating units done and dusted now?

    HT
     
  5. Mikey1280

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: South East London

    Come back to Folding!!! I dont think Folding is eating my memory atm, task manager claims 6,000k.
     
  6. happytechie

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,601

    Location: Surrey

    I might do, I'll have to wait till I have access to my 'server' again. It's off site and just sits crunching. I had to stop folding on it 'cos when it got 4 of those high memory units (400 point intel only ones, I can't remember which folding engine they were using) the responsiveness of the server dropped to unacceptable levels.

    I can't work on this dev box when it's folding either it just seems to eat up memory and ith all the other stuff I have running the memory usage is critical for me. sah seems to use alot less than folding did.... 6000K sound's ok though, I might give it a whirl this afternoon

    HT
     
  7. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 2 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,741

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    Oi! HT, the huge-memory using WUs were QMDs. If you find that using gobs of memory is unacceptable you should recall that the default option is for small WUs. These use far less memory then big WUs. In my experience they use between 1 and 20 MiB RAM. Run your client with -configonly and tell it NO when it asks if you want WUs greater than 5MiB. :)
     
  8. MajorPart

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Jan 2006

    Posts: 404

    Location: Edinburgh

    Looks like we'll be in slot 49 in about 10 hours, shift over AOA Forums :D

    Might even make it 48 by the end of next week if we pull up our socks.

    Been a pretty up and down week it seems.. and i've had two machines down doing sod all waiting for bits.. can't believe i've dropped out of the Top 20 Producers :mad: :( :eek:

    HeeHee
     
    Last edited: 19 May 2006