1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

C1E and Intel Speedstep these days?

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by MuSsEr, 25 Sep 2013.

  1. MuSsEr

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,135

    So, I just ordered a new system...
    Intel i5 4670K
    MSI G45-Z87 mobo

    The last time I built my own PC, it was the "rule of tumb" to disable C1E and intel speed step in the bios, because....well....they sucked.

    How is it these days? should these still be disabled or do they work properly now?

    Please bear in mind when answered I couldn't care less about power consumption, if I can turn something off to gain 1 extra fps or slightly quicker loading of something then I will, so all I care about is speed.

    Thanks :)
     
  2. wazza300

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Jul 2009

    Posts: 27,066

    Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham

    Just personal choice,I've always left them on since x58,never had issues with stability
     
  3. MuSsEr

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,135

    well the last PC I built for myself was Q6600 and Abit IX38-QuadGT
    at the time Intel speed step was rubbish
     
  4. 8 Pack

    OcUK Staff

    Joined: 20 Feb 2012

    Posts: 10,046

    Location: John Smiths Stadium

    Leave Speed Step on but disable C states for overall stability.
     
  5. MuSsEr

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,135

    Im not even sure what c1e even is, was always told to disable it....whats it do?
     
  6. wazza300

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Jul 2009

    Posts: 27,066

    Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham

    its power saving for the cpu

    lets it use less than 1v at idle
     
  7. BloodyL

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,094

    Location: In here and out there.

    Disable C6/C7 as well, it'll improve throughput performance.
     
  8. MuSsEr

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,135

    What do they do?