1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cable/ adsl problem

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Dredd, 14 Jan 2006.

  1. Dredd

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,824

    atm i have cable, will be moving soon to new house i can only get adsl.

    will Netgear DG834G 54Mbps Wireless ADSL Modem/Router/Switch/Firewall

    work with my cable modem?
     
  2. Andre

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Feb 2003

    Posts: 2,653

    Location: Deep dark hole

    You basically bin the cable modem and the Router has an inbuild ADSL modem.

    You connect to the router via either ethernet or wireless
     
  3. OllyM

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Aug 2004

    Posts: 6,219

    Location: New Jersey, USA

    The DG834G won't work with your current cable connection, no.
     
  4. Dredd

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,824

    my plan just to plug cable modem in for now, when i move bin cable modem and just use built in adsl modem
     
  5. benjo plz.

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Jan 2004

    Posts: 14,208

    Location: Hall

    You can use the router as a switch, but it won't route the cable.
     
  6. Vertigo1

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Dec 2003

    Posts: 15,386

    Err, you don't bin the cable modem at all!

    You give it back to the cable company as it's their property.