Can a Thinkpad Yoga S1 connect to a 5120x1440 external monitor?

Associate
Okay, guys, I'm not specifically into gaming, an I'm not an expert in hardware---this is a simple question that I couldn't find an answer to: how do I know if a computer (laptop) is compatible to a given monitor? In other words, if it can actually use the high native resolution of the huge screen I'm about to buy. Is it true that more or less any computer can adapt to any monitor's resolution, more or less?

Details: I'm running Win10, 64bit on my Yoga Thinkpad S1 (Yoga Laptop (ThinkPad) - Type 20CD - Model 20CD00B1US).

I want to buy a 5120x1440 display (Samsung C49RG90 49-inch Super Ultrawide Curved Gaming Dual WQHD 1440p Monitor).

Would my laptop support the native resolution of this monitor?

(My graphic connection is mini-HDMI.)

Thanks!

Last edited:
Associate
OP
Hello EsaT, and thanks.

That is the precise problem: nobody knows which max resolution can be supported by which computer.
Here, I am now writing this comment using my laptop perfectly connected to a 2560x1080 screen, which
proves that the stated max of 1920x1200 is false.

But thanks for the link, I've learned now which graphic processor I need to investigate.

Any advice here?

Associate
OP
PS. I don't play/game. I need the screen for productivity only.
Based on your comments, I'm starting to believe that it will work!
Because, I understand that there are no rigid upper bounds here.

Soldato
The rigid upper bound is the maximum bandwidth of the HDMI version the device has. The bandwidth required is based on the resolution, the colour depth and the refresh rate.

If the device it HDMI 1.4 it'll support 4K (which is more-or-less what you have) but only at 30Hz. 4K at 60Hz requires HDMI 2.0 or better.

You should be able to connect at a lower resolution. 2560x1440 is an obvious choice. Assuming the monitor supports 1:1 pixel mapping you'd have black bars down both sides with the displayed area looking correct.

Associate
OP