1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can anyone please help me make my own desktop.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by lunatic9009, 22 Apr 2010.

  1. lunatic9009

    Associate

    Joined: 21 Apr 2010

    Posts: 54

    Budget is around £600-£800 with shipping.

    This is my first time assembling a PC, so i need all the help i can get.

    I want something that is good for now and will have upgrade capabilities for the future E.g. Crossfire.

    I was thinking something like this:


    [​IMG]


    I don't know about power supply though.
     
  2. sjcf1

    Hitman

    Joined: 19 Aug 2009

    Posts: 972

    Location: West Yorkshire/Birmingham

    Think you could go a notch down on the power supply. Though if your planning to add an extra card then the extra power may come in use.

    Buying a pre made board is a good idea if its your first built pc.
     
  3. lunatic9009

    Associate

    Joined: 21 Apr 2010

    Posts: 54

    What do you mean by premade board?

    Also i am thinking of adding another GPU but that's for the future.

    Would it be better if i change the GPU to single 5870?
     
  4. RJC

    Don

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 28,847

    Location: Kent

    I would probably go with the Samsung F3 500GB hard drive.
    The board can do crossfire, but the second slot is limited to 4x which would impact the performance, I would go for single better card.
     
  5. sjcf1

    Hitman

    Joined: 19 Aug 2009

    Posts: 972

    Location: West Yorkshire/Birmingham

    Sorry, a slip of the tounge there. I meant a pre assembled bundle, where some of the components, especially the CPU are already fitted. It can be daunting at first to do that.

    I don't think a 5870 is worth it. A second 5770 would give you 5870 performance I think - correct me if I'm wrong. A 5850 would be a better option as you can clock it to 5870 levels.
     
  6. lunatic9009

    Associate

    Joined: 21 Apr 2010

    Posts: 54

    RJC what do you mean by second slot is limited to x4?

    Sorry i am very new at this.

    Sjcf1 i want to try and build my own but if there is a assembled bundle you would recommend then please post it, also i don't know how to overclock meaning if i did get the 5850 i wouldn't know how to make it perform like 5870.
     
  7. RJC

    Don

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 28,847

    Location: Kent

    The slot is electrically limited to 4x the bandwidth, instead of 16x or 8x, this will impact the performance of the gpu being used, ie another 5770.
     
  8. lunatic9009

    Associate

    Joined: 21 Apr 2010

    Posts: 54

    So it's better to go for single GPU?
     
  9. RJC

    Don

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 28,847

    Location: Kent

    Yes :)
     
  10. gbradders123

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 Jul 2009

    Posts: 603

    Location: Shropshire

    by almost 5% iirc!
     
  11. lunatic9009

    Associate

    Joined: 21 Apr 2010

    Posts: 54

    Okay thank you.

    So what things would you suggest?
     
  12. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,847

    Location: weston-super-mare

    Zalman Z7 case is better.
     
  13. lunatic9009

    Associate

    Joined: 21 Apr 2010

    Posts: 54

    Explain why please? Stulid
     
  14. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,847

    Location: weston-super-mare

  15. lunatic9009

    Associate

    Joined: 21 Apr 2010

    Posts: 54

    Anyone care to design something for me please?
     
  16. Liampope

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,380

    Location: Bedford/Stavanger

    i5 with a 5850 was done in another thread for just over 800 which would be much more awesome than the i3 with 5770 there. It will be perfectly adequate at standard clock and you can learn to overclock later.
     
  17. asoxedri

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Sep 2009

    Posts: 655

    Location: London

    what will you use your computer for?
    what size monitor do you have?
    do you need operating system? monitor? keyboard & mouse?
     
  18. Fallen god

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Oct 2008

    Posts: 6,685

    Location: London

    I think something like a 955BE and 5850 would be better as you can get more future proofing for the same price. Most i5 mobos dont do 8x/8x xfire.
     
  19. lunatic9009

    Associate

    Joined: 21 Apr 2010

    Posts: 54

    asoxedri i am only looking to build a desktop.
    i have a crappy monitor but i will plug it on my samsung 37" HD 1080p.

    And please everyone comment on this.

    [​IMG]

    Would i need that much PSU?
     
  20. Fallen god

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Oct 2008

    Posts: 6,685

    Location: London