1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

can i do anything? work overtime question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by welshboy, 8 Oct 2009.

1. welshboy

Wise Guy

I recently got promoted in work and thus they put my wage up by £1200.
    This puts me £250 over my works overtime threshold so i cant recieve overtime however I was earning 3-4k a yr in overtime so im actually losing money. Now i havent signed anything for this promotion and I have a letter saying "congrats, the only changes are your job title and salary..original contract still applies" now my original contract sais im entitled to overtime.

usually when work increase peoples wages they put them at the limit of the o/t threshold so they can still earn overtime. Now i work in IT as systems analyst and i often work unusual hours because my work requires it e.g. turning networks off during the day cant be done. I think our new finance director doesnt like me though so has done this for a reason just to tick me off.

at the minute im a bit depressed because im still expected to do the work yet for free.

any advice would be great.thx

2. D18241

Wise Guy

ask for a new job desc + contract to read before agree then sit down with HR and question about bits like this

3. welshboy

Wise Guy

thats the thing they havent given me a new job description, just changes to my statement of terms of employment. ive had nothing to sign.

4. Mr Jack

Capodecina

Speak to your boss.

5. welshboy

Wise Guy

he has no say. our work arangement is wierd. everything is controlled via finance bosses.

6. EVH

Don

Request a meeting with someone that can help.

Explain the situation and potential loss of earnings, and it'll get sorted :confused:

7. welshboy

Wise Guy