1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I fix my UPS?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Quartz, 2 Sep 2020.

Tags:
  1. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Apr 2014

    Posts: 11,690

    Location: Aberdeen

    I have an APC Back-UPS 1400 which is dead as a doornail. No lights, no noises, no nothing. It failed when I replaced the batteries (purchased direct from APC). It's still dead with the old batteries.

    Is this something a non-electrician can investigate and fix?
     
  2. pp111

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Oct 2018

    Posts: 660

    There may be an internal fuse that blew when it tried to charge the new batteries. I don't know, but I would speak to their technical support.
     
  3. LeMson

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Mar 2012

    Posts: 3,510

    I can foresee no problems with this venture. :D
     
  4. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Apr 2014

    Posts: 11,690

    Location: Aberdeen


    I am no electrician.
     
  5. EsaT

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Jun 2008

    Posts: 8,654

    Location: Finland

    What's the precise model number?
    Though there aren't much service manuals/precise data about UPSes.

    One thing which comes to mind is circuitry needed for powering UPS.
    At least some UPSes need battery power to even connect into mains with default state being mains relay in disconnected state.
    (and when presence of mains voltage fitting insdie tolerances detected UPS connects to main only then)
    For example if that circuitry has any power regulation, some failed capacitor could have cooled during battery change, if UPS was disconnected from power for longer time during that.

    Also that fuse of battery connection is easy to check.
    (or more likely it's multiple smaller fuses in parallel)
     
  6. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Apr 2014

    Posts: 11,690

    Location: Aberdeen

    BX1400UI

    Where is the fuse? What does it look like?
     
  7. no idea what

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 5 Oct 2009

    Posts: 9,992

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Honestly at this point you need to just stop.
     
  8. EsaT

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Jun 2008

    Posts: 8,654

    Location: Finland

    Those fuses might be vehicle fuses, like in this near battery wiring:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_8huWbNVZzw
    (Jianghai crap capacitors in control electronics circuitry)

    Not much of BX1400's insides visible in this
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=twDPPBzKO7g

    BX1400 is pretty much marketing scam and would expect it to be total cheapo.
    Volt-Amperes are no good with active PFC loads and it's watts which count.
    And that model has power factor of only 0.5 and despite of that big marketing number actual output power is only 700W.
     
  9. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Apr 2014

    Posts: 11,690

    Location: Aberdeen


    Fair enough. I'm no electrician, but I know enough to know that I'm dealing with dangerous currents.
     
  10. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Apr 2014

    Posts: 11,690

    Location: Aberdeen


    So which one do you recommend for home use? It was protecting my PC.
     
  11. EsaT

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Jun 2008

    Posts: 8,654

    Location: Finland

    If IEC sockets are enough there's lots of different choises.
    For UK outlets selection is more limited.

    CyberPower PFC Sinewave series would have actual sinewave output and two UK sockets +4 IECs.
    Despite of smaller VA number CP1300EPFCLCD-UK would be actually stronger with 780W max output.
    Though not sure how they've achieved that cheaper than others price for sinewave output. (at least battery capacity toward smaller end)
    Unfortunately there's very little solid information about UPSes and their quality etc.
     
  12. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Apr 2014

    Posts: 11,690

    Location: Aberdeen

    Cyberpower have been recommended elsewhere. Unfortunately OCUK don't sell them so I'll be throwing some money at the river place.
     
  13. snapdragon69

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Jan 2014

    Posts: 869

    In some APC models, the fuses are on/in the battery packs and others on the cables leading to them. They are big blade type fuses. Google image search apc ups fuse