1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Can i get a rough IQ on these games?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaiju, 26 Feb 2006.

  1. Kaiju

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 3,638

    Location: Expat in HK

    Using a X800XT...

    Generals
    Half Life 2
    Doom III
    Call of Duty 2
    FEAR
    Pro Evo 5
    FM 2006

    Resolution, AA, AF please. Trial and error, but a *rough* guide to get me started on playable settings would help. Cheers!
     
  2. Jimbo Mahoney

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,371

    That's really hard to say dude.

    Are you a 30fps person or an 85 fps+ person?
     
  3. nO}{8

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Jun 2004

    Posts: 1,569

    Location: in the clouds

    it is really hard to say but im going to guess:.....

    some games are really resolution limited so im assuming your running at 1280x1024 with vsync off


    Generals (presuming you mean c+c) 4xaa 16xaf 60+fps all settings on top
    Half Life 2 4xaa 16xaf 100fps all settings on top
    Doom III 4xaa 8xaf 60fps(capped) ultra quality
    Call of Duty 2xaa 4xaf above 60fps constantly with dx9 and most settings on top
    FEAR 4xaa 8xaf but resolution of 1024x768 above 60fps 99% of the time, if you up the res 40-50 fps (auto detect settings with soft shadowing off)
    Pro Evo 5 unknown as ive never played it.
    FM 2006 6xaa 16xaf 100fps
     
  4. Kaiju

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 3,638

    Location: Expat in HK

    Awesome nO}{8, exactly what i needed. Appreciate it.
     
  5. hannibal2381

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 15 Dec 2005

    Posts: 431

    what about bf2 ? and those are really good figures for a x800, didn't think they would throw them fps out. :eek:
     
  6. Kaiju

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 3,638

    Location: Expat in HK

    I was running HL2 earlier 1600x1200 with 4x AA, 16x AF and vsync enable. Nice.

    IQ on BF2 would be nice too as i'm probably going to get it soon.
     
    Last edited: 26 Feb 2006
  7. Duff-Man

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Jun 2004

    Posts: 10,977

    Location: Manchester

    Sounds far too optimistic to me... I'm using SLI GTXs and a 3Ghz Opteron 146, and I don't get those framerates consistently... Certainly you won't be getting close to a solid 60fps on Doom3 with 4xAA enabled on an x800...
     
  8. Wakinglimb

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,745

    Location: London

    I agree Duff-man, on my old rig x850xt pe + 3ghz opty + 2gb ram and a sata2 raid array I couldn't get 60fps with those settings on Doom 3.
     
  9. nO}{8

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Jun 2004

    Posts: 1,569

    Location: in the clouds

    well poke me in the eye and call me roger! I looked at the specs and thought I saw a x1800xt, oh dear Im going to revise the estimate....

    Generals (presuming you mean c+c) 2xaa 8xaf 60+fps all settings on top
    Half Life 2 2xaa 2xaf 60fps all settings on top, might stutter in places
    Doom III 2xaa 2xaf 60fps(capped) high quality
    Call of Duty 2xaa 4xaf above 50fps ish
    FEAR 0xaa 0xaf but resolution of 1024x768 above 60fps 99% of the time, if you up the res, 15-40 fps (auto detect settings with soft shadowing off)
    Pro Evo 5 unknown as ive never played it.
    FM 2006 4xaa 4xaf 100fps
     
  10. Puppetmaster

    Soldato

    Joined: 17 Jun 2005

    Posts: 6,438

    Location: Near Brighton

    If its zero hour, then i doubt he will get that amazing performance, on a heavily overclocked 6800gt and a a64 3200 @ 2.6ghz with 2gb of 520mhz ram, if i run it on 1280 x 1024 with everything maxed it wont do an 8 player without having some jerky ness, i seem to remember 6 player sometimes does it as well and occasionally in 4 players. Zero hour runs really crap tbh, if its just generals should be ok
     
  11. Duff-Man

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Jun 2004

    Posts: 10,977

    Location: Manchester

    LOL - oh well, it happens.

    Sounds about right now :D I think you could probably enable 8xAF without much of a performance hit though, if you wanted.