1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

can i still use a 6yr old HD for todays system??

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by coldfused, 3 Mar 2006.

  1. coldfused

    Hitman

    Joined: 9 Oct 2005

    Posts: 868

    Location: Cambridge/London

    Hi, I really need help - My 120GB Maxtor SATA I hard-drive crashed, its still within warranty and i plan on sending it back to them so that them can give me a shiny new one, but I'm at university now and really need my PC for work, I have an old reliable aptiva at home dating back to 1999, it has a 8GB hard-drive, i think its IDE but I'm not sure, is it possible to use this in my ASUS A8N-SLi motherboard for tempoary time only until I get my other HD fixed?

    I'd really be chuffed if someone could let me know.
    Thank you!!
     
  2. sniper007

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 18 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,110

    In word, yes.
     
  3. InQ

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Oct 2003

    Posts: 1,652

    Location: Preston

    Yea it'll be fine, at a guess it'll probably be ATA33 but it'll be an IDE interface for sure....unless its a SCSI drive (unlikely)! Even if its ATA33 your mobo will be backwards compatible so it should be fine.
     
  4. Kainz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Dec 2002

    Posts: 21,972

    Location: In a cowfield, London, UK

    It'll either be ATA33 or a PIO bugger running at 16mb p/sec like I have on my P2-450 system. It's still running a 6.4gb Seagate Medalist on it lol, but working fine after all these years. It should work fine, but it'll obviously be quite slow, but acceptable.
     
  5. MAllen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Feb 2003

    Posts: 2,236

    Location: Brighton, UK

    It will work, but you will soon fill up 8GB with an XP install. There won't really be much room for anything else....

    (Did this with a mate last year. Installed XP onto a 10GB hard disk, added a few small progams and one game. That was the drive full....)
     
  6. Behemoth

    Mobster

    Joined: 1 Dec 2002

    Posts: 2,834

    Location: Cornwall

    You could always download and run Kinoppix, thats what I did when a HDD failed, used that till the replacment came, that and a usb memory stick worked wonders :)