1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

can no page file cause BSOD?

Discussion in 'Memory' started by tone12, 24 Sep 2009.

  1. tone12

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Feb 2009

    Posts: 42

    hi,

    i just bought 4gb of ram last week and have started having page fault errors. im tryin to trouble shoot to see if its the new ram thats faulty or is it me having a small page file.

    with my old 2gb kit of ram ram i always had a 1gb page file and didnt suffer any probs. with this new 4gb kit i thought id try and switch off or reduce the page file to increase performance and thats when ive started having these problems. they occur randomly when surfing the web or gaming.

    ive now set the page file to 2gb so il see if any more errors happen. if i dont get any more errors would i be safe in assuming that the ram is ok?
     
  2. tone12

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Feb 2009

    Posts: 42

    well i was still gettin errors even with a page file. put my old ram back in and would u know it, no errors! open and shut case of faulty ram methinks.

    the ram was CSR-854G5C CORSAIR XMS2 4GB (2X2GB) DDR2 PC
    (1066mhz 5-5-5-18)

    anyone else ever used this ram?
     
  3. Mattus

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Sep 2003

    Posts: 10,912

    Location: London

    For the record, having no page file is unlikely to cause a BSOD, but it can certainly cause applications to crash if you run out of RAM.
     
  4. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    Some time ago I tried disabling the pagefile but got a lot of errors, no BSOD's

    @tone12, is the RAM running at the correct speed, timings and with the correct voltage?
     
  5. tone12

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Feb 2009

    Posts: 42

    yep the ram speed was 1066mhz and the timings where 5-6-6-18. it booted up ok but as i said i was constantly gettin errors. i have my old ram back in now and the errors have disappeared.

    needless to say ive returned the ram.