1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

can someone help please? not sure if im in the right place.

Discussion in 'Servers and Enterprise Solutions' started by CRAGET, 17 Oct 2009.

  1. CRAGET

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 385

    Location: Smoke-On-Trent

    Hi people, A friend of mine at work has a crappy IBM thats linked to the works network. In the back of our warehouse there used to be a backup tape drive in some kind of server type box that now has HDD storage.
    Right......Everytime he shuts down the pc, he has to manually map a network drive by typing in the following-

    right click My computer.
    select "map network drive"
    select drive P:
    folder: \\10.10.1.20\d$
    select "connect using a different username"
    Username 10.10.1.20\administrator
    Password ********
    select ok
    select finish

    because of this he never shuts the pc down :eek: like NEVER. unless something crashes. Is there anyway to run like a batch file or something to to do this automaticaly?
    Any help would be great :)
    crag.
     
  2. oddjob62

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 8 Nov 2002

    Posts: 9,128

    Location: NW London

    net use Z: \\ip\share /user:domain\username password

    Stick it in a batch file and stick it in his startup folder.
     
  3. CRAGET

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 385

    Location: Smoke-On-Trent

    just to be sure I would type

    net use Z: \\10.10.1.20\share /user:10.10.1.20\administrator ********

    should z: be p: ? Thanks for the help buy the way, not wrote a bat file for like 15 years ;)
     
  4. oddjob62

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 8 Nov 2002

    Posts: 9,128

    Location: NW London

    Ahh Ok...
    Open up notepad, type the line
    net use p: \\10.10.1.20\d$ /user:10.10.1.20\administrator ********
    save it
    rename the file from ***.txt to ***.bat
    stick that file into his startup folder (C:\Documents and Settings\(user)\Start Menu\Programs\Startup)
     
  5. J.B

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Aug 2006

    Posts: 5,922

    In the mapping drive screen is there not a tick box for "Reconnect at logon"?
     
  6. m4cc45

    Soldato

    Joined: 10 Mar 2003

    Posts: 6,563

    Doesn't work if the Username / Password has to be typed manually.

    Oddjob62's way is the way I would do it.



    M.
     
  7. Sin_Chase

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jan 2004

    Posts: 20,555

    I have never had a problem using the persistant switch even with different credentials.

    net use X: "\\host\Share" /P:Yes /USER:domain\username password
     
  8. CRAGET

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 385

    Location: Smoke-On-Trent

    Thanks oddjob, worked a treat. And thanks everyone for your input ;)
    crag.
     
  9. m4cc45

    Soldato

    Joined: 10 Mar 2003

    Posts: 6,563

    Obviously you can do it by the command line but, as far as I can remember, not by the 'reconnect at logon'.



    M.