1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Can someone quickly clear the LGA1156/1366 thing up for a noob i7 guy

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Bigsy, 14 Oct 2009.

  1. Bigsy

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,308

    Location: Bristol

    Basically I ordered an asus p55 mobo with dual channel ram and by accident I also ordered a i7 920, I meant to get a 860.

    I realised my mistake when I opened everything and assumed a 1366 chip iwasn't going to fit/work on a p55 mobo and dual channel ram. So I phoned overclockers to see what my options were in sending it back. But they tell me this combo should work fine and they use it in the shop?

    Is this right? I don;t want to open the cpu incase it doesnt fit and I need to send it back.
     
  2. Prophet

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Oct 2004

    Posts: 7,365

    Location: Notts

    The i7 920 WILL NOT work in a P55 Motherboard.
     
  3. L0stpr0phet

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Sep 2009

    Posts: 183

    very confusing, i'd have to agree with your initial thoughts that a 1366 chip is not going to work in a 1156 socket.....

    I'm also new to the world of i5 and i7 so hopefully someone else can clear it up for you but from what i've read the p55 is a new socket type so requires the lga1156 chips.

    Edit- There we go Orange Peel seems to have cleared that up :)
     
  4. Bigsy

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,308

    Location: Bristol

    Thanks, back in the ocuk support queue I go....god this painful...
     
  5. bifday2k

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Jul 2009

    Posts: 2,601

    When u finally get through try and speak to the same person, and call them a complete muppet hahaha.

    the guys here are right the cpu is not compatable with the mobo you have, and the support person u talked to should know that.

    Good luck with getting it replaced, im sure they will if u get through to someone that knows anything.
     
  6. Bigsy

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,308

    Location: Bristol

    Ok got through, they agreed to let me RMA the 1366, but now being told that the p55 mobo is i5 only??

    Can someone just 100% tell me a 860 is fine in the Asus P7P55D before I order it. I was 100% sure this was ok before talking to tech support and still kind of am...just dont want to go through this ball ache again.

    Thanks.
     
  7. thefish

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,007

    Location: n.ireland

    yes its fine
     
  8. -VK-

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Oct 2009

    Posts: 462

    Location: United Kingdom

    The 860 will work fine in the P7P55D boards.

    i5 - i750 = Core i5 / 1156 Socket - No Hyperthreading, Lynnfield CPU.

    i7 - i860 = Core i7 / 1156 Socket - Has Hyperthreading, Lynnfield CPU.

    i7 - i870 = Core i7 / 1156 Socket - Has Hyperthreading, Lynnfield CPU.

    i7 - 920 = Core i7 / 1366 Socket - Has Hyperthreading, Bloomfield CPU.

    Hope that helps :)
     
  9. _SBradley_

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Jul 2009

    Posts: 751

    Location: Perth, WA, Australia

    Your socket 1156 motherboard will accommodate:

    • Core i5 750
    • Core i7 860
    • Core i7 870
     
  10. bifday2k

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Jul 2009

    Posts: 2,601

    the 860 is 100% compatable with the mobo you have.
     
  11. Bigsy

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,308

    Location: Bristol

    Thanks everyone, 860 ordered....at last :)
     
  12. gurusan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 Sep 2006

    Posts: 13,489

    Location: Portland, OR

    They really should have not called the 860 an i7, it's confusing. They should have called it a 755 or something, the 5 indicating that it supports hyperthreading.
     
  13. hardtarget

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Feb 2004

    Posts: 422

    Location: UK

    It is very confusing glad you got sorted. :D
     
  14. Ducky Spud

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Feb 2009

    Posts: 1,720

    Location: Teesside

    Got to love intels naming system!! Classing them as i7 purely on whether they have hyper threading was such a bad move! Doing it according to what socket it uses would of made much more sense but Intel seem to have missed that point :p

    But yea, get an 860, that will work fine on a P55 board :)
     
  15. _SBradley_

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Jul 2009

    Posts: 751

    Location: Perth, WA, Australia

    The naming system makes sense to me! The 750 and the 860 are equivalent, performance-wise, and so they are both classified as i7. The 750 is below the i7 chips, in terms of features/performance, and so it is classified as i5.
     
  16. gurusan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 Sep 2006

    Posts: 13,489

    Location: Portland, OR

    but they have different features such as dual channel ram and onchip PCI-E lanes....
     
  17. _SBradley_

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Jul 2009

    Posts: 751

    Location: Perth, WA, Australia

    Of course they're not identical. That's why one is 8xx, the other 9xx. :p But they're roughly equivalent, performance-wise.

    Makes sense to me, anyway. Maybe I'm alone. :)
     
  18. JonJ678

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Dec 2008

    Posts: 10,371

    Location: England

    Hang on a sec. Overclockers support system told you:

    The asus P55 will work with the i7 920

    Then, later told you that the asus P55 will only work with i5 processors

    I make that one technical support guy who needs to get out of their store. If you took down their name (I would have), call up, get through to management and tell them that this mans ignorance cost you time and money, and you want the return shipping fee refunded as a result. At the least they'll tell him to learn something before selling hardware to people.

    It's doing them a favour. Were I to get through to a fool on their support line, I'd be much less inclined to buy from them. /awaits ban :(
     
  19. Bigsy

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,308

    Location: Bristol

    Yes, thats exactly right. Admittedly I made the mistake in the first instance, should of double checked my cart before hitting checkout. But the guy on the phone was absolutely adamant the 920 would work in the mobo I had bought.

    I queried this for some time but he wouldnt have hit to the point he really had me questioning myself, that and the fact the phone call was starting to get a bit embarrassing I decided to end it and get backup from the forum :)

    Still getting passed from pillar to post to get an RMA. After the second phone call after a RMA was agreed he told me he couldn't do it over the phone there and then so I would have to email, which I did, then got a reply saying I had to phone the RMA department on the number I had already called earler in the day and was told I couldn't get one???

    To think I was praising ocuk last week on excellent customer service it comes to this.
     
    Last edited: 14 Oct 2009
  20. JonJ678

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Dec 2008

    Posts: 10,371

    Location: England

    All depends on who you get through to :(

    Good luck with it man. Hope you do report the fellow, or other people will be steered down the same road. It's a subtle point, but its one a hardware salesman needs to get right.