1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can this be done?

Discussion in 'HTML, Graphics & Programming' started by Guv, 15 Jan 2006.

  1. Guv

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,259

    Location: Warwickshire

    I want to be able to keep an eye on an item I've got on ebay from work. However, the ebay website is blocked by work :mad:

    Is there any way I can have the ebay page I want to view load in another webpage hosted on my webspace that I can access from work, or as soon as it trys to load data from ebay will it be blocked?

    If there's a chance it'll work how do I go about having the ebay page load in mine?


    thanks
     
  2. dave_a141

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 May 2005

    Posts: 121

    Location: Yorkshire

    You could try an iframe but I don't know if it will work:

    a simple do like this:
    Code:
    <html>
    <body>
    
    <iframe src="EBAY PAGE" height="100%" width="100%">
    </iframe>
    
    </body>
    
    </html>
    
    Something like that anyway
     
    Last edited: 15 Jan 2006
  3. Mr_L

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Jan 2005

    Posts: 3,732

    Location: Worcester

    I don't think so, it will probably be filtered out at the proxy so you'd have to bypass that.
     
  4. dave_a141

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 May 2005

    Posts: 121

    Location: Yorkshire

    You're probably right actually

    I'm not the best in PHP but could you use it and echo it onto your site?
    EDIT:
    Code:
    <?php
    include 'thepage';
    ?>
    
     
    Last edited: 15 Jan 2006
  5. Mr_L

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Jan 2005

    Posts: 3,732

    Location: Worcester

    It would be a bit more complex than just echoing it onto the page but it could be done.
     
  6. Guv

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,259

    Location: Warwickshire

    how complex are we talking?
    any helpful websites you know of or templates?


    thanks again
     
  7. Haircut

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,926

    Location: SW London

  8. philio16

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 158

    Location: Manchester, UK

    vnc to your home pc and view it through there?
     
  9. Guv

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,259

    Location: Warwickshire

    I tried that on Friday but port 5900 appears to be blocked. 5800 appeared to be ok but both are needed AFAIK. I'll try an alternative port, but not sure which to try yet.
     
  10. Guv

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,259

    Location: Warwickshire

    Looks interesting. Is there any way my ebay page will be flagged up so they can see I've been on it or will only google.com show up?
     
  11. Jotun

    Mobster

    Joined: 11 Jun 2005

    Posts: 3,606

    Location: Liverpool

    what dave_a141 said works fine

    <?php
    include("http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/BALL-OF-ELASTIC-BANDS_W0QQitemZ5656034044QQcategoryZ88433QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem");
    ?>

    will give you this
     
  12. sfx

    Hitman

    Joined: 13 Dec 2004

    Posts: 926

    Yeah but as soon as you click on a link you are taken away from inc.php. Also that will not be able to handle forms either.

    sfx
     
  13. roboffer

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 9,599

    Location: Sunderland

    Cant you do a web request in PHP? Certainly possible in ASP/ASP.NET really simply. Web request to the page in question and write out the response.

    If you do need to create something to navigate away from the page (ie click a link) it gets a bit more complicated if the site is using sessions or cookies.

    Alternative is to use one of those auction sniper sites?
     
  14. AndyBorzi

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Nov 2005

    Posts: 1,390

    Location: Peterborough

    The way we used to get round that at my last place was to google search the page and get in that way rather than access it via the address bar. I'm guessing that works because of the carp way the proxy was set up!!
     
  15. Sic

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 15,365

    Location: SO16

  16. Guv

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,259

    Location: Warwickshire

    using that worked fine.

    thanks everyone