1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can you connect 2 Models to 1 ADSL line?

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Typhoon, 15 Nov 2007.

  1. Typhoon

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Mar 2007

    Posts: 589

    Location: London

    Wondering if it is possible to connect 2 ADSL modems to one line. I have a wireless router at the moment by I cant get a signal up stairs. A friend has offered to give me an old adsl modem router (non wireless), and was wonering if I could use it upstairs as I have a phone like there already?
    Cheers
     
  2. oddjob62

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 8 Nov 2002

    Posts: 9,128

    Location: NW London

    Not at the same time no.
     
  3. FreeStream

    Capodecina

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,376

    Nope.

    And thats pretty poor wireless if you can't get it upstairs.

    I can do corner to corner using my N 5GHz Airport Extreme and N Macbook Pro.

    Infact I've been able to go over to a mates house 50m away and still (just) get a signal!

    Get a better wireless router ;) or another one to piggyback the signal.
     
  4. Fr0dders

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 33,330

    Location: West Yorks

    as above, get a better router

    unless you've got lead lined ceilings or something ? :D
     
  5. andr3w1984

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 20 Oct 2007

    Posts: 983

    Location: United Kingdom

    Buy an N wifi router. Will do the trick nicely.
     
  6. Wicksta

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 14 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,445

    Location: Burnham, Bucks

    As an alternative you could try those network adapters that plug into a mains socket and get internet upstairs that way.
     
  7. Typhoon

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Mar 2007

    Posts: 589

    Location: London

    Thanks guys, its an old 'b' router so an upgrade is in order me thinks.
    Cheers