1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can you have 2 sim cards for same number?

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones & Tablets' started by apatia77, 9 May 2006.

  1. apatia77

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Mar 2005

    Posts: 4,741

    Can you have 2 sim cards for same number?
    Sorry for my bad english but I did get MDA today and Im not sure if I want to keep it, its great for the internet etc but not as a mobile which you take everywhere with you.
    Can you order second sim card and use it in another mobile? So I can use MDA for the internet and another mobile for making calls etc. So if someone rings you both of the phones ring.
    Im not sure if its possible but would like to check it with you lads.
    Thx for any help.
     
  2. spirit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,885

    no i don't believe you can.
     
  3. BaZ87

    Don

    Joined: 9 Jun 2004

    Posts: 39,407

    I asked this once before and iirc you can on Vodafone but they charge £10 per month. May be wrong though.
     
  4. fluiduk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,567

    Location: Manchester

    I think that is right. I know orange dont do it
     
  5. Spamalot

    Soldato

    Joined: 25 Oct 2004

    Posts: 5,241

    Location: Cambridge

    Wouldnt bother, just get a smaller smart phone like the i-mate sp5, runs windows mobile 05 and every thing your MDA will run (unless you got the pro?).
     
  6. andyu

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 26


    they do on business lines
     
  7. Airax

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Feb 2004

    Posts: 1,382

    Location: London

    Vodafone: Yes (but no GPRS and you have to enter a PIN number to swap SIM's)
    Orange: Yes, but corperate customers only
    T-Mobile: Yes, same as Orange
    O2: No (Its not possible apprantly!)

    In short not worth the hassle. If its a real issue you can get a 2nd contract and have calls diverted.