1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Can you tell what CPU this is?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by munge, 31 Jul 2006.

  1. munge

    Hitman

    Joined: 31 Dec 2005

    Posts: 645

    Location: Always on the M1.....

    http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b181/drjsd/31072006090.jpg

    Any idea what chip this is? Can't seem to find any markings on it and am looking to sell it on a certain auction website, but obviously I need to find out what it is first.

    I think it's a K7 or K6 of some sort, but other than that I haven't a clue and don't have a mobo I can put it into to to find out.

    Not quite a Conroe, but might get a few quid...
     
  2. Gashman

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Mar 2006

    Posts: 4,379

    Location: Jarrow, Tyne And Wear

    im gonna say thats athlon XP 'thunderbird' core, i think it is, bartons and thoroughbreds had different colour PCB
     
  3. agw_01

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Apr 2004

    Posts: 19,681

    Defo a T'Bird.

    The Pally's and Barton's were organic instead of ceramic, and weren't as thick as that.

    Tap a screwdriver or something on the CPU (the grey bit, not on the core). You should get a nice 'tink' sound.
     
  4. Gashman

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Mar 2006

    Posts: 4,379

    Location: Jarrow, Tyne And Wear

    bartons were definately organic colour and thoroughbred were green
     
  5. The $6m Dan

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Dec 2002

    Posts: 2,385

    Location: Leeds

    Yeah theat's a T'Bird. The T'Breds, and Bartons had green or brown packaging.
    The markings should be on the core itself, under the theraml paste. Clean that off and you should be able to see some codes, post those here and some body should be able to help.

    Edit - You might be able to work backwards with this tool here to see what speed it is.
    Mess around until the bridges on the ewb page match those on your cpu.
     
    Last edited: 31 Jul 2006
  6. Cuchulain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Dec 2004

    Posts: 7,627

    Location: Derry

    The older Durons look like that too.
     
  7. munge

    Hitman

    Joined: 31 Dec 2005

    Posts: 645

    Location: Always on the M1.....

    Lovely tink!

    And would appear it says under the paste - Duron DHD1200AMT1B. Didn't realise the heatsinks had any writing on them.

    Which with the power of google, tells me its pretty much seemingly worth about a tenner at auction... :mad:
     
  8. munge

    Hitman

    Joined: 31 Dec 2005

    Posts: 645

    Location: Always on the M1.....

    Would appear you're spot on! I'll take £20 for it?
     
  9. Sir Random

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Aug 2003

    Posts: 2,636

    Location: Wicklow, Ireland

    You should see all the relevant info when you clean the core.


    [​IMG]

    If it's that chip, then these are the specs:

    Core Frequency: 1300 MHz
    Board Frequency: 100 MHz (x2)
    Clock Multiplier: 13.0
    Made in: Malaysia
    Package Type: Ceramic
    FCPGA-469
    Introduced: 01/2002
    Address bus: 32 Bit
    Ext. data bus: 64 Bit
    Transistors: 25,180,000
    Circuit Size: 0.18 µ
    Voltage: 1.75 V
    L1 Cache: 64+64 KB
    L2 Cache: 64 KB
    CPU Code: K7 Duron Morgan
    Socket: A

    edit: Too slow :o
     
    Last edited: 31 Jul 2006
  10. Cuchulain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Dec 2004

    Posts: 7,627

    Location: Derry

    Ignore.
     
  11. gam3r

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Jun 2005

    Posts: 3,789

    Location: London..

    I was gonna say it looked like a duron as well.. :confused:
     
  12. munge

    Hitman

    Joined: 31 Dec 2005

    Posts: 645

    Location: Always on the M1.....

    That's the one, thanks for the help.

    I'll have to see if I can continue this guessing game tomorrow...
     
  13. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,540

    Location: Midlands

    looks like a duron core to me since its more squareish in shape. my tbird cores were rectangular in shape.
     
  14. Fazari

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Jul 2006

    Posts: 28

    That is the processor die, not the heatsink.
     
  15. Gashman

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Mar 2006

    Posts: 4,379

    Location: Jarrow, Tyne And Wear

  16. munge

    Hitman

    Joined: 31 Dec 2005

    Posts: 645

    Location: Always on the M1.....

    My bad...
     
  17. Justintime

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 24 Jul 2006

    Posts: 8,869

    Location: Edmonton, London, UK

    That'd be a newer duron without ceramic packaging, Morgan core or Appaloosa was it? Dunno if the Morgan cores ever made it out of Ceramic packaging to the opga one, don't know a thing about Durons past 1.3 or so as i stopped using them and used low speed Xps for budget builds instead.
    http://www.guiadohardware.net/livros/hardware/05/index.inc_html_10e13c2f.jpg - spitfire Duron

    http://www.pacs-portal.co.uk/Computers/images/athlon.jpg - Thunderbird
     
    Last edited: 1 Aug 2006
  18. Gashman

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Mar 2006

    Posts: 4,379

    Location: Jarrow, Tyne And Wear

    no i was on about the shape of the core and other componants around it, thunderbird and durons are identical as far as i can see :p
     
  19. Justintime

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 24 Jul 2006

    Posts: 8,869

    Location: Edmonton, London, UK

    Look at where the L1 bridges and AMD logo is in realtion to the orientation of the die of each cpu.
     
  20. Gashman

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Mar 2006

    Posts: 4,379

    Location: Jarrow, Tyne And Wear

    nicely spotted, but thats the only difference...