1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't get ADSL modem to work with wireless router?

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Kaiju, 6 Jul 2006.

  1. Kaiju

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 3,638

    Location: Expat in HK

    I have a Kcorp 575 wireless router and a Dlink DSL 300T ADSL modem. When i connect the modem straight into my PC i get a connection, but when i put the ethernet cable through either the WLAN or normal RJ45 ports on the wireless router, i get nothing. Any ideas?
     
  2. JimboTheGiant

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Feb 2003

    Posts: 896

    Ethernet from the modem to the routers WAN port should work. Try it: turn everything off (router, modem and pc) first turn on modem (wait for a minute), then turn on the router (wait for a minute), then turn on the pc. See if that works.

    Also, you need to set your router to get its address via dhcp from the modem, and that its lan side of the network is on a different address range, or things could get messy

    Jim
     
  3. barnettgs

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,804

    Location: N Ireland

    I had similar experience and was solved by tolien yesterday. http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=17597084

    Set first adsl modem to 192.168.1.1 and wireless router to 192.168.1.2

    Just disable DHCP, NAT etc on wireless router. Keep DHCP enabled on adsl modem router. Connect the LAN port on the ADSL router to a LAN port on the wireless router (Do not use internet port!).

    ADSL router will give out ip to computers via wireless router. You should have internet connection by now.
     
    Last edited: 7 Jul 2006
  4. Kaiju

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 3,638

    Location: Expat in HK

    GREAT! That did the trick.

    Only problem is i have a few ports open now on ShieldsUp! namely RPC, Net BIOS and MSFTDS. I'm positive my router at least stealthed them. I turned NAT back on and i'm still getting a connection, but any ideas why those ports are now back open. I don't really want a software firewall, but may just have to run Windows Firewall to get those things stealthed again.
     
  5. barnettgs

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,804

    Location: N Ireland

    Which router did you open ports?

    Keep NAT, firewall etc enabled on adsl router and turn off anything on wireless router because adsl router is taking care of all security.

    Also I was told that you cannot have NAT enabled on both router at the same time otherwise you will have some problems.

    Anyway, I am not expert on this, best to ask someone who knows more about this.
     
  6. Kaiju

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 3,638

    Location: Expat in HK

    But i don't have an ADSL router, i have a ADSL modem and wireless router. I am having problems with the Dlink ADSL modem now, it keeps disconnecting, but the included ADSL USB modem by Speedtouch doesn't when testing. I think i got duped into a faulty ADSL modem on eBay. Bah!