1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Cheap clockable cpu

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by robgti, 3 Jun 2010.

  1. robgti

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Dec 2007

    Posts: 881

    Location: Easington Lane

    I am looking at doing a new build for my Dad but it is a very low budget so was wondering what older cpu is worth looking at? I do not mind if its going to be Intel or AMD as i will be building the system are the cpu.

    It is going to used for a bit of HD play back, games and web browsing. I was thinking something that is cheap but easy to overclock instead of paying extra for a faster cpu.

    Any advice would be great thanks
     
  2. MiNxYyY

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 22 Mar 2008

    Posts: 3,976

    Location: Redditch

  3. Frozennova

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Nov 2009

    Posts: 11,436

    Location: Northampton

    i'd look at any of the Athlon II series, not athlon 64 as above as its older tech and runs hotter, consumes more power etc
     
  4. MiNxYyY

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 22 Mar 2008

    Posts: 3,976

    Location: Redditch

    But its cheap :)
     
  5. robgti

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Dec 2007

    Posts: 881

    Location: Easington Lane

    I will be looking at buying nearly everything second hand so will hopefully be cheaper than new.
     
  6. ricky

    Gangster

    Joined: 28 Dec 2008

    Posts: 390

    Location: Nottingham

    Second hand q6600's are worth looking at,excellent chips,and there seems to be plenty about.
     
  7. no idea what

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Oct 2009

    Posts: 10,925

    Location: Lincolnshire

    E8400's clock to 4Ghz on air, Q6600's clock very well also.
     
  8. Swifty123

    Hitman

    Joined: 13 Feb 2010

    Posts: 888

    Highly recommend a Athlon II as there beast overclockers, you could get a dual and unlock too?
     
  9. Frozennova

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Nov 2009

    Posts: 11,436

    Location: Northampton

    No unlock on dual core (Regor) however the Tri core athlons are unlockable as well as dual and tri core phenoms.
     
  10. robgti

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Dec 2007

    Posts: 881

    Location: Easington Lane

    I have a Q6600 in my main rig and yes they are very good but not looking to spend that much. Going to beg borrow or steal and try and do the full build for around £150.
     
  11. Swifty123

    Hitman

    Joined: 13 Feb 2010

    Posts: 888

    Yeah your right and im thinking about phenoms, but still a good cheap cpu.
     
  12. robgti

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Dec 2007

    Posts: 881

    Location: Easington Lane

    So i am best off looking at an AMD chip then?
     
  13. Redmint

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,190

    Location: Guildford

    If you're going for a £150 budget I'd suggest going for one of the lower end Core 2 chips tbh not AMD.
     
  14. I DON'T fancy boys

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jun 2008

    Posts: 2,966

    for that money id get hold of an intel e3200, can get them for 25 second hand and they have been known to overclock to 4ghz with some good cooling. Very impressive chip, i had one myself and put it up to 3.6ghz on stock voltage.
     
  15. drunkenmaster

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 33,194

    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CP-250-AM&groupid=701&catid=6&subcat=1328

    With any even half decent mobo(ie, all of them) theres an incredibly high chance of unlocking that to a quad core and we're well past the days these were fsb limited badly, 250/260fsb is very easy and that would get you a 4Ghz quad core, at worst a 3.8Ghz dual core which will still be very fast, cheap and a decent mobo/system.

    You can't beat the value of a core that unlocks, its not the best ever value if it doesn't unlock but its certainly not a slow cpu, its just if it unlocks to a quad, its insanely good and probably the best value cpu we've ever had.

    The black edition costs more, will overclock the same and has unlocked multipliers, but honestly, you won't need it. I got the black edition, largely because the 545 was out of stock and closer in price anyway, I don't use the multi, I run at 250Mhz or so, can quite easily run at 300Mhz with a lower multi though theres not a huge amount of reason to.
     
  16. Frozennova

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Nov 2009

    Posts: 11,436

    Location: Northampton

    Its not particularly cheap the Athlon II 245 is the same price and would be on par performance wise but will overclock due to being on a smaller manufacturing tech (60nm vs 45nm IIRC)

    That kind of budget you really are looking at second hand Core 2 Duo


    I'd say your looking at the following

    P35/P45 Mainboard ~£40
    Intel E3200/E3300 ~£35 New
    2Gb DDR2 (1066mhz would be better) ~£40
    Nvidia 8800GT(S/X) ~£40

    That would be you budget gone and would need to reuse hard drive, psu, case and optical drive. The e3200s are commonly had at 4ghz, I believe a member here bought for some OCing fun and had 4ghz on stock cooling albeit a little toasy.
     
  17. Sukh

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Jan 2007

    Posts: 3,583

    Location: Chelsea

    e6300 from the core2duo is my recommendation.
     
  18. Robzere31

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Nov 2005

    Posts: 4,506

    Location: Redditch

    You could pick up an old E2140-e2180 for peanuts now, when I had one mine ran at 3.4GHZ 24/7 runnnig [email protected]

    At the time I think I paid, £30 for it,that was a couple of years ago.
    My E4800 I had at the same time, did 4.2GHZ but that cost me £100 at the time.
     
  19. robgti

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Dec 2007

    Posts: 881

    Location: Easington Lane

    I have seen a E4300 for £18 for sale. Did a bit reading up on it and a 100% overclock is possible with decent cooler. Worth a look?
     
  20. Redmint

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,190

    Location: Guildford

    I used to run an e4400 at 3GHz which kept me happy until I decided to upgrade to a Q6600, they're nice chips.