1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cheap Ti 4200 replacement..advice plz.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by plasmahal, 5 Feb 2006.

  1. plasmahal

    Mobster

    Joined: 5 Feb 2006

    Posts: 3,481

    Hi there,

    I need to upgrade the GFX card in my sons computer which has a pny verto geforce 4 ti 4200 64mb.

    rest of system specs are:

    amd athlon xp2500 (barton)
    soltek frnl2 agp 8x
    512 mb 333 ram
    350w psu

    he wants to play black and white 2 at high res.

    I'm looking at around £40 - £50 for a new card.

    I've seen a PNY Verto geforce Fx5500 8xAGP 128MB card and also the Sapphire Radeon 9550 128MB DDR AGPx8 which are in mt price range.

    Would these cards be a good replacement ?

    thanks.
     
  2. UOcUK Poopscoop

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Dec 2002

    Posts: 4,470

    Location: Kent

    Hiya, and welcome! I see its your first post. :)

    Can you define what you mean by "high res" in regard to the expectations of the card?
     
  3. Xionic

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 564

    Location: Rotherhan, UK

    Welcome

    The 4200Ti is still a fantastic GFx card i was using one up until 6 months ago.

    my advise would be the XFX GeForce 6200 256MB (which is £50) and maybe some more ram

    as above, give details on what u mean by High-Res
     
    Last edited: 5 Feb 2006
  4. St0rmer66

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Oct 2004

    Posts: 4,550

    Location: Harrogate, North Yorks

    If he's playing B&W2 then definitely go for an Nvidia card, they seem to do much better at it.

    A better definition of "high res" would be good as Poopscoop said.
     
  5. ACESHIGH

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,305

    Youd probably be better of getting 2nd hand 9700pro / 9800pro
     
  6. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    Not for B&W2 (until the bug fix patch comes out) as there is a bug in the code which seriously gimps ATI cards.
     
  7. sja360

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Jul 2003

    Posts: 3,875

    Location: Dundee

    maybe look for a fx5900 (at very least) or a 6800 agp (if thats possible within your budget) as those would be best, i'd totally advise against buying new fx5500 series or the 6200 nvidia series, those cards may have features with them, but they just wont give enough power.
    did the ti4200 run the game ok or ? if it did have slight framerate issues then maybe look into a Ti4600 which is abit better than the Ti4200 but shouldnt cost alot (maybe £30)
     
  8. plasmahal

    Mobster

    Joined: 5 Feb 2006

    Posts: 3,481

    Thanks for the replies so far.

    By high-res, i meant at 1024x768 it could be smoother but he can't use all the extras like shadows and bloom etc...

    He's played it on my computer (ati radeon 9800pro agpx8) with all the graphic options on and set to high and wants the same graphics quality on his computer.

    The other alternative (which i would need to up my budget) is to put my 9800 pro in his computer and get a suitable replacement for my computer.

    My specs:
    amd athlon64 3500 939pin (artic cooler)
    abit av8 3rd eye
    1024mb golden dragon 400
    550w psu

    If i go this route i need a suitable card that wont break the bank (ie the wife doesnt know), maybe something like a geforce 6600gt ???

    cheers.
     
  9. plasmahal

    Mobster

    Joined: 5 Feb 2006

    Posts: 3,481

    Would this card be a good replacement for the 9800pro ?

    Sapphire X1600 Pro 256MB DDR2 AVIVO TV-Out/DVI (AGP) - Retail (GX-116-SP)
     
  10. Roll

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Apr 2004

    Posts: 2,721

    New 9800 Pros seem to be harder to come by these days, so I'd suggest looking around for a second hand model either here on Members Market or elsewhere.

    Although the card is no longer the latest, for the kind of budget you're looking to spend I don't think you will be able to beat the performance from a 9800 Pro and it should still be able to play most of the current games.

    Hope this helps.
     
  11. andyportess

    Associate

    Joined: 24 Oct 2005

    Posts: 58


    Don't be so tight. Swap computers with him!

    Andy
     
  12. plasmahal

    Mobster

    Joined: 5 Feb 2006

    Posts: 3,481


    Ha..Ha....

    It aint gonna happen.... ;)

    He has enough time already and what am i gonna play all the nice games on.

    I think it's generous enough to get his gfx card replaced as it is....LOL. :D
     
  13. Tysonator

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,968

    Location: Wilderness of ESSEX

    DELETED , NO TRADING OUTSIDE MEMBERS MARKET
     
  14. Tysonator

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,968

    Location: Wilderness of ESSEX

    DELETED , NO TRADING OUTSIDE MEMBERS MARKET
     
  15. plasmahal

    Mobster

    Joined: 5 Feb 2006

    Posts: 3,481

    Thanks for the offer, and i can't see a member sellers area either (unless it's under another forum heading).

    I'm looking at a purchase from a retailer so i have some comeback if there are any problems, so don't be offended.

    I don't really want to consider certain online auctions sites either.

    but thanks again.
     
  16. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 13,997

    Location: Midlands

    i got a ti4200 128mb its still a good card runs need for speed most wanted at 800x600 with some details at max, no aa and low car reflections.

    im after a new card now to replace the ti4200 so it can push the game to 1024x768, would be good if there is something out there for 50 quid or so that can offer more power.
     
  17. ACESHIGH

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,305

    Here i some info i found online from an etailer (dont think i can state due to rules) but may be helpfull.....

    Customer Reviews Of Radeon X1600PRO

    amazing
    quite impressive. runs UT2004 flawlessly on full settings. great value
    Upgraded from xtasy Ti4200. Huge difference. Havent tried to OC, will wait a while

    Fast card!!!
    Able to Play Doom 3 (high res), Nascar (max res), Call of duty 2 (max res)..
    Really suprised at the way this thing handles games... Verty impressive for the price!!!

    Fantastic for the money
    open GL 2.0, 256mb ram, and 12 pipelines for a great price!
    Plays BF2, COD2,HL2,and FEAR smooth.

    Great!
    This card is the way to go if you are looking for a sub-mid range gaming card. It can play most of the current games on high setting. Pair this with an AMD processor and you'll rip apart HL2. Haven't tried to OC this, but not planning to anyways.
     
  18. Marshy

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,623

    Location: On holiday

    You need to have 250 posts & be a member for a minimum of 90 days before you gain access to members market mate , all is listed in the FAQ.
     
  19. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 13,997

    Location: Midlands

    x1600 does not have 12 pipelines, its more like 4 pipelines i think.
     
  20. ACESHIGH

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,305

    Powered by ATI Radeon X1600 Pro - 500MHz
    - 256MB-128bit 4 channel DDR2 memory - 800MHz
    - 12 Pixel shader processor
    - 5 Vertex shader processor
    - 8 Geometry Pipelines
    - Ultra-threaded SM 3.0 Engine
    - 256-bit Ring-bus
    - ATI Avivo™
    - High Precision Architecture
    - AGP 8x native support



    - Powered by ATI Radeon X1600 XT - 600MHz
    - 256MB-128bit 4 channel DDR2 memory - 1400MHz
    - 12 Pixel shader processor
    - 5 Vertex shader processor
    - 8 Geometry Pipelines
    - Ultra-threaded SM 3.0 Engine
    - 256-bit Ring-bus
    - ATI Avivo™
    - High Precision Architecture
    - CrossFire™ Support
    - PCI Express® x16 lane native support