1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Check my download box

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Scott Salisbury, 6 Mar 2006.

  1. Scott Salisbury

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,588

    Location: Newcastle, UK

    I'm building a download PC with a bit of storage.

    This is what I have:
    - Asus Vintage AE1 Barebones System - AMD Socket 754
    - AMD Athlon 64 3000 Newcastle 130nm (Socket 754)
    - Corsair 512MB DDR Value Select PC3200 CAS2.5
    - Western Digital Caviar Special Edition 320GB 3200JD SATA

    I already have a 200GB hard drive in my main machine (sig) which I will swap and put into this download box, giving a total of 520GB of storage. I am also thinking about including a 150GB Raptor on that list too to replace my 74GB one as they do look quite sexy :)

    Not including the 150GB raptor, it will cost a total of £281. Which is really not bad at all.

    Does this look alright? Any changes/suggestions are welcome.
     
  2. semi-pro waster

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 25,829

    Location: Glasgow

    Are you only going to be using that PC for downloading? If so I'd suggest you are as well getting a Sempron and saving anywhere up to about £50 because it will do the same job.

    You may also be as well getting a cheap DVD drive or even a DVDRW to enable you to install files more easily and if you get a DVDRW you can backup more easily as well.
     
  3. Scott Salisbury

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,588

    Location: Newcastle, UK

    Yeah I was thinking about the sempron, but unfortunately the barebone system I picked doesn't support sempron for some reason. So that means I'd have to get the motherboard, case and psu seperately. I just worked it out and I'm saving about a 10er by going for the sempron.

    However, I am tempted by the DVDRW idea. I already have a DVDRW on my laptop but it would be convenient to have one on their too.

    Do you have any recommendations on DVDRWs? No price range preference.
     
  4. leezer3

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Jan 2006

    Posts: 2,961

    Location: Norwich

    It should still support Sempron AFAIK.
    I don't believe there are any real tecchie differences between a sempron & a normal A64.

    Just because its not specifically mentioned doesn't mean it won't ;)

    -Leezer-
     
  5. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,988

    Location: England

    Any board that supports A64 will do sempron as well, even if it does need a bios update.
     
  6. Trigger

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,822

    No it won't- it says clearly in the spec of the barebones system that it has no support for sempron 64's ;)
     
  7. Trigger

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,822

    CA-001-OP Optronix Midi Tower Case Bundle Kit (Keyboard, Mouse & Speakers included) - Black/Silver 400w PSU (CA-001-OP)
    £25.95 £25.95
    CP-138-AM AMD Sempron 64 2800+ 1.6GHz (Socket 754) CPU - Retail (CP-138-AM)
    £45.95 £45.95
    MB-124-AS Asus K8V-MX VIA K8M800 Micro ATX (Socket 754) Motherboard (MB-124-AS)
    £34.95 £34.95
    MY-002-OK OcUK Value 512MB PC3200 184pin DDR Memory (MY-002-OK)
    £19.95 £19.95
    HD-045-WD Western Digital Caviar Special Edition 320GB 3200JD SATA 8MB Cache - OEM (HD-045-WD)
    £76.95 £76.95
    Subtotal £203.75
    VAT £35.66
    Total £239.41

    :cool:
     
  8. Scott Salisbury

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,588

    Location: Newcastle, UK

    I like it trigger, I like it alot :D

    OMG is it just me or is that case bundle kit an awesome deal? 30 quid for all that? Impressive.
     
  9. Trigger

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,822

    Built a system out of at weekend and was rather impressed with the quality. The case can be a tad flimsy to start with but it's fine once all the bits are in it :) The PSU which comes with it is really good quality- the rails are excellent on it :cool:
     
  10. leezer3

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Jan 2006

    Posts: 2,961

    Location: Norwich

    Please don't talk rubbish :rolleyes:
    There are plenty of threads out there where people have Semprons working perfectly on this system, for instance
    http://episteme.arstechnica.com/groupee/forums/a/tpc/f/77909774/m/241008187731

    A BIOS update may be needed, but it will absolutely certainly support the Sempron.


    -Leezer-
     
  11. Trigger

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,822

    OK, if you want to get smart. How clear would you like it exactly? Perhaps if I put flashing lights round it you might see it...? :p
     
  12. ACESHIGH

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,305


    If youre only saving a 10er by going for the Sempron, get the Athlon 64 instead. You never know what else you may want to do with it in the future & the Athlon 64 will be more up to any other tasks.
     
  13. Trigger

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,822

    It's not a tenner though- it's £41 as I have proven :)
     
  14. semi-pro waster

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 25,829

    Location: Glasgow

    He isn't, there is a conflict between the OcUK website and the Asus website here. Asus say that Semprons are supported but may need a bios update, OcUK say that Semprons are supported but not the S64 models. Which one is correct I don't know but you would be on pretty shaky ground if you were to buy it from OcUK and found it didn't work then tried to hand it back claiming incompatability.

    I suspect it will work(whether with or without a bios update) but Trigger is not wrong to be cautious about his recommendations.

    As for DVDRW I'd probably suggest an NEC maybe the 4551(with Lightscribe technology) or the 4570, I've got the 3550 and it is a great drive and I think the new ones are the same :)
     
  15. iraiguana

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Aug 2005

    Posts: 2,599

    i have the nec 4551 (with lightscribe) and it works like a dream, runs at full speed with media (cheap stuff included) although i have not tried the lightscribe stuff and it can be found for ~£30 odd. well worth it.
     
  16. leezer3

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Jan 2006

    Posts: 2,961

    Location: Norwich

    Will a thread off the AMD site do?
    http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=61256&pid=622850&st=0&#entry622850

    Also, to quote directly from the ASUS site:
    While I see your point, just because the description says something doesn't mean it is true. There are large numbers of threads out there with people with Sempron 64 CPUs running in this board.
    Plus, there's something called the sale of goods act if he can't get it to work ;)

    I would also trust the manufacturers site way above a retailer, after all they did design and make the thing :eek:

    I don't know if they are shipping the with the most current BIOS as default, but the latest revisions most definitely support the Sempron 64 CPUs.

    -Leezer-
     
    Last edited: 7 Mar 2006
  17. semi-pro waster

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 25,829

    Location: Glasgow

    Is a roll-eyes strictly necessary here? The point is that there is no harm in being cautious about what you recommend to people, it isn't your money and you won't be dealing with the problems should it not work. Well done for finding out that in most cases it will work straight out the box though.

    The reason that most people(myself included) will generally go by the descriptions is that they neither have the time nor the patience to search through to find out if the manufacturer has made a mistake. Technically OcUK could still refuse to support/swap the Asus if it is incompatible due to the warning on their website about it not being supported.
     
  18. leezer3

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Jan 2006

    Posts: 2,961

    Location: Norwich

    True :(
    The original rolleyes wasn't as appropriate as it might have been, but even Asus' site states that the machine supports the Semprons, so I feel it was justified up to a point. (Oh, I removed the one you are quoting soon after you posted- Less appropriate still)

    -Leezer-