1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

check my spec?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by cellpack, 19 May 2006.

  1. cellpack

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Oct 2003

    Posts: 250

    Hi,

    what do you think of the following will al be compatible and things?


    Shopping Cart (Prices in British Pounds) REFERENCE DESCRIPTION QUANTITY PRICE COST REMOVE
    MB-055-GI Gigabyte G1-Turbo G1975X Intel 975X (Socket LGA775) PCI-Express Motherboard (MB-055-GI)
    £139.95 £139.95
    MY-097-CS Corsair 2GB DDR2 Value Select PC5300 Dual Channel Kit (2x1GB) (VS2GBKIT667D2) (MY-097-CS)
    £114.95 £229.90
    HD-074-MD Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 11 400GB 6H400F0 SATA-II 16MB Cache - OEM (HD-074-MD)
    £96.95 £193.90
    CD-041-PO Pioneer DVR-111BK 16x16 DVD±RW Dual Layer ReWriter - (Black) OEM (CD-041-PO)
    £22.95 £45.90
    HS-016-CM Coolermaster Hyper48 Cooler (Socket 754/775/478/939) (HS-016-CM)
    £24.95 £24.95
    CA-041-AN Antec Titan 550 Tower Case - 550w TruePower PSU (CA-041-AN)
    £93.95 £93.95
    HD-002-MI Mitsumi FA 404M 7in1 USB 2.0 Floppy & Media Drive - Black (HD-002-MI)
    £12.95 £12.95
    KB-075-LG Logitech MX 5000 Laser Cordless Bluetooth 2.0 Desktop Combination - Retail (KB-075-LG)
    £79.95 £79.95
    MO-025-AC Acer AL1951DS 19" LCD Monitor (MO-025-AC)
    £236.95 £236.95
    OS-002-MS Microsoft Windows XP Professional Edition inc. SP2 - OEM - 1Pk (E85-04026) (OS-002-MS)
    £79.95 £79.95
    CP-121-IN Intel Pentium 4 960 Dual Core "LGA775 Presler" 3.6GHz (800FSB) - Retail (CP-121-IN)
    £329.95 £329.95
    GX-072-XF XFX GeForce 7900 GTX 512MB GDDR3 TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (PVT71F-YDL9/YDFR) (GX-072-XF)
    £289.95 £289.95
    Subtotal £1,758.25
    VAT £307.70
    Total £2,065.95
     
  2. squiffy

    Banned

    Joined: 17 Mar 2006

    Posts: 9,155

    Replace the Maxtor with another drive, Western Digital or Seagate. I take it this will be a gaming machine? Why 2x2GB sticks= 4GB? :confused: 2GB is plenty. Can't help with CPU/Mobo matching not followed Intel for a while.
     
  3. R B Customs

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2005

    Posts: 3,266

    Location: Manchester

    yea unless your running windows X64 or linux or somwething ( lookign at your shoppign cart yor not) 4GB is pretty useless. cant remeber the exact size but 32bit windows doesnt support 4GB, and apparently it will hinder performance, soem one muight be abel to clear this up though
     
  4. cellpack

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Oct 2003

    Posts: 250

    okay thanks i will change it to 2gb and a western digital so it evetyhing else should be okay
     
  5. earlyflash

    Gangster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2004

    Posts: 288

    3GB for Windows on x32.
     
  6. R B Customs

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2005

    Posts: 3,266

    Location: Manchester

    thats the one, but by adding that extra stick it means your using 2 channels thus effectivly loosing performance right ?