1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Choice of 3 AMD's

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by fenderbass86, 9 Mar 2006.

  1. fenderbass86

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,986

    Location: Chelmsford

    Which of these three would be best for a gaming pc? I've never overclocked a CPU before but would like to get as much out of the chip as possible.

    1) 3700+ San Diego OEM (£140.94 inc VAT)
    2) X2 4400+ Dual Core (£334.82 inc VAT)
    3) Opteron 170 San Diego (£317.19 inc VAT)
     
  2. Dureth

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Mar 2005

    Posts: 2,198

    Have you considered a 3800 X2 or a 4200 X2?

    They would be my recomendations to you even if your not overclocking.
     
  3. Jamie1984

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Oct 2005

    Posts: 427

    Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne

    You aint overclocked before, but im guessing with a bit of reading on these boards you'll probably get more from the opty 170 with less need for adjusting voltages...may be simpler and faster in the end :)
     
  4. Soul Rider

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Nov 2005

    Posts: 434

    Location: Milton Keynes

    If your willing to spend £300+ on a chip for the dual core's, why are you considering the 3700+ You should at least look at the high end single cores - 4000+ and so on if you have that much money to spend.

    The 3700+ is just not in the same league as the other chips, plus the current OEM 3700 chips don't seem to be clocking too well, although the retail ones are.
     
    Last edited: 9 Mar 2006
  5. ACESHIGH

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,305

    Would say go for the Opteron 170 San Diego
     
  6. fenderbass86

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,986

    Location: Chelmsford

    Thanks for the help guys, Opy 170 it is. What sort of clock speeds should I get when it's fitted with the Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro?
     
  7. ted34

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 1,738

    Location: Edinburgh

    Id go for the 3700 over the 4000. It nearly always clocks better and is far better value for the money.



    Depends on the stepping. I just upgraded to a 170 from a 3700 that was clocked at 3ghz. At 2.9ghz superpi 1mb was 2 seconds slower but the comp was noticeably quicker. I now got the 170 at 3ghz but its a CCB1E 0550 stepping. Id expect 2.6ghz from the 0551 steppings that overclockers are selling at the moment
     
  8. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    Yeah, you can expect about 2.6Ghz out of the 170.
    If you're not overclocking and don't wish to, the 4400+ is faster at stock.
     
  9. fenderbass86

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,986

    Location: Chelmsford

    Even though the 170 is 2.0GHz at stock, will it be faster than my 3.0GHz P4 if overclocked to about 2.6Ghz? Will I notice a decent change?
     
  10. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    An opty [email protected] will blow away the [email protected]
     
  11. Squidge

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,185

    An opty 170 @ 2.6Ghz will blow away (as in, at least twice as fast) a p4 @ 3.8ghz :)

    After a lot of fiddling, my 170 is now happily stable @ 2.65Ghz (was only stable at 2.6Ghz before :D )
     
  12. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    lol, the more the merrier! :D I was simply referring to the P4 he has in his sig :)
     
  13. Soul Rider

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Nov 2005

    Posts: 434

    Location: Milton Keynes

    He put on there the OEM 3700+ - Current steppings are not clocking very well maxing out around 2.7-2.8 with 1.55v and above.
     
  14. mj3zero

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 221

    Location: Behind YOU !


    I had the same quandry last week and went for an even cheaper option - the OEM Opty 146. Got it at 2.8 right now, been bumping it up 100 a day and not had to tweak the volts from standard (Bios 1.425 - actual 1.465). Going for that allowed me to stretch my vga budget.

    When dual cores come down in price I may upgrade, but this thing is flippin fast as it is and it's not peaked yet.

    mj
     
  15. Xionic

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 631

    Location: Rotherhan, UK

    ive got 0551 (current OcUk stepping)

    CPU @ 2650Mhz (265x10) 1.37v
    RAM @ 265Mhz (520DDR)
    Air cooled on a Zalman 9500

    4 hour dual prime. (didnt have time for a longer one)
    [​IMG]

    Temps
    (Idle temps are not cold boot)
    CPU - Idle: 25*C | Load: 40*C
    PWMIC - Idle: 40*C | Load: 50*C
     
    Last edited: 11 Mar 2006