1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

choosing processor...

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by blighter, 11 Jul 2006.

  1. blighter

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 31 Mar 2006

    Posts: 3,274

    Location: Gravesend, Kent

    hi all,

    im building a new pc for use with a vast majority of things, mainly hosting servers (http, ftp, mail...) and creating software, but also for watching and encoding videos etc

    im wondering what the best processer would be out of AMD and Intel and what would your recommendations be?

    thanks

    matt ;)
     
  2. Zefan

    Don

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 30,883

    Location: Tosche Station

    Budget needed :p
     
  3. blighter

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 31 Mar 2006

    Posts: 3,274

    Location: Gravesend, Kent

    as little as possible really lol i *** need it to support vista though :) im not worried about being 64bit either
     
  4. quadboi

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 28 Feb 2006

    Posts: 1,606

    It has to be 64bit for vista I believe...
     
  5. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,971

    Location: England

    You can get 32bit vista, all cpus are 64 bit anyway now.

    Intel conroe. ;)
     
  6. Zefan

    Don

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 30,883

    Location: Tosche Station

    Will it be getting upgraded bit by bit, regularly, or are you the sort that upgrades every two or three years and blitzes it?
     
  7. blighter

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 31 Mar 2006

    Posts: 3,274

    Location: Gravesend, Kent

    i prefer to update wen i get to the point of checking the thing out the window lol at the moment i have a dell inspiron 1150 with 64mb graphics, intel celeron 2.4Ghz and 256Mb ram... and it runs windows server 03. its wayyy to slow though and i hate it lol
    im buildin a PC from scratch, the only problem is is that i am 16, only work on saturdays and get about £120/month, which is mostly going into my holiday savings :(
    i have found a lovely case... but thats about it.. i dont even have room in my room lol ;)

    any help would be great as my downfall is CPUs, motherboards and ram
     
  8. gamesaregood

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Sep 2003

    Posts: 2,809

    Location: Suffolk

    none of the intel mobile line is
     
  9. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,971

    Location: England

    Yes but we are talking about desktop chips here. ;)
     
  10. gamesaregood

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Sep 2003

    Posts: 2,809

    Location: Suffolk

    I seem to remember u stating "all" ;)
     
  11. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,971

    Location: England

    You know what I meant. ;)
     
  12. Zefan

    Don

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 30,883

    Location: Tosche Station

    There are some great deals on 939 chips at the moment, such as the 4000+ for £111. If you teamed that with the AsRock Dual motherboard (Works with agp and pci-e graphics cards, 939 and AM2 cpus), you'd have a decent setup however it'd be fully upgradeable with newer AM2 chips.
     
  13. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,971

    Location: England

    And am3 ones as well. :) I have the same motherboard and I didn't know it had this feature at the time but I'm glad I bought it now for the upgrade ability.
     
  14. blighter

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 31 Mar 2006

    Posts: 3,274

    Location: Gravesend, Kent

    to be honest i dont wna spend £100 odd on a cpu lol sorry guys :(

    i've been talkin to friends and they have recommended a few sites, i have found what i think is a good setup, any opinions?

    Motherboard
    Albatron K8X250 Pro K8 Socket 754 nVidia nF3 250 800MHz FSB ATX AGP
    £26.14

    CPU
    AMD Sempron 3300+ (SDA3300BXBOX) 64Bit Architecture 2.0Ghz Skt 754 Boxed
    £59.47

    RAM
    Kingston 512MB DDR333 PC2700 NON-ECC CL2.5 DIMM
    £31.91

    sorry about the competitor problem :(

    one last thing now... the (cheap) hard drive :)
     
    Last edited: 11 Jul 2006
  15. daz.wallace

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,177

    Location: Tyne & Wear

    your going to have to remove those links to competitors :eek:
     
  16. doodah

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 23,944

    Location: London

    i would read the FAQ and remove those links pronto :) ;)
     
  17. blighter

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 31 Mar 2006

    Posts: 3,274

    Location: Gravesend, Kent

    done :)
     
  18. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,971

    Location: England

    I wouldn't reccomend a sempron for video encoding and software creation, you cant really skimp on the cpu for those things. You need ddr400 memory as well.
     
    Last edited: 11 Jul 2006
  19. Macca

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Sep 2004

    Posts: 2,019

    Location: Wanaka

    Are these new intel chips that good? Gonna read up on them but seems everyones wanting to buy them :eek:
     
  20. PeteLucky7

    Gangster

    Joined: 10 Mar 2006

    Posts: 496

    For this kind of budger wouldn't you just be better off getting a second hand (478?) pentium and 1gb ram?