Cisco Hardware learning advice

ryu

ryu

Associate
Hi all

Just after a little advice for learning Cisco switches and routing.

I am a Network Admin/Sys Admin in my day job but only have experience with what my company uses which is Netgear switches/Draytek Routers/Watchguard Firewall etc.

If I was to buy the following lab pack for £90 off of the well known auction site would these be adequate for following along with the labs?

Cisco Devices
2 x Cisco 2621XM (Router With Two Fast Ethernet Ports)
3 x Cisco WS-C2950-24 (SWITCH)

Any features these would lack or anything I need to be aware of?

Thanks in advance

Last edited:
Caporegime
Whilst I agree that GNS3 and Packet Tracer can indeed get you through the knowledge needed for ICND1 and ICND2, having the kit around and going beyond the scope of the syllabus can REALLY aid you in feeling familiar with real kit (password recovery, IOS upgrades, physical connectivity, etc).

Soldato
I tend to find having actual physical kit makes things so much easier. That kit should be ok you may want to get some serial cards as the CCNA i believe still covers it.

ryu

ryu

Associate
OP
Hi thanks for the feedback.

I agree that it's nice to have the chance to play around with actual hardware, familiarise and become comfortable with it, doing firmware upgrades etc.

I have had a play around with packet tracer and have been following some of the easier tutorials and its a great little program to simulate the experience and learn from in a clutter free environment. There seemed to be limitations in the inability to be able to do extended vlans, so I assume there may be numerous other things along the way, can these be done using GNS3? I have not taken a look at that yet.

I am merely intrigued at the moment and have no need to learn this at my current job but who knows what the future holds.

Soldato
I bought a lab.

Really wasn't worth it.