1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Clocking a 4400+

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Xionic, 5 Feb 2006.

  1. Xionic

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 564

    Location: Rotherhan, UK

    im in the process of buying a 4400+ X2 with a DFI Lan Party Ultra-D. i wondered what people had managed to clock theirs to (fully stable)
     
  2. sagaboy2

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,436

    Location: Church Fenton

    2.64 is my max stable on air 1.6v 55C load

    The CPU isnt the problem to cool, its the chipset and PWmic chip that need cooling because X2 draw more current that single core CPUs
     
  3. Xionic

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 564

    Location: Rotherhan, UK

    im intending to use the Tai-Chi case or just get the BigWater SE cooling kit, im not really bothered about noise so i will be filling the case with high powered fans
     
  4. sagaboy2

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,436

    Location: Church Fenton

    Well should be ok.

    If chipset gets too warm there is always the zalman heatsink, but beacuse of the design of the DFI ultra D if you have a large GPU, which im guessing you will have in a system like that you will need to bend back the fins to fit it in.

    Also if you got some ram sinks stick one of the PWmic chip, its to the right of the DIMMs and just next to the ATX 24 pin socket. Thats what will heat up unless you have a fan on it when clocking.
     
  5. Sanzy

    Banned

    Joined: 12 Mar 2005

    Posts: 1,117

    Location: Forget About It

    I would expect you to get around 2.6ghz on the 4400 maybe higher
     
  6. mattio1980

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 480

    Location: south uk

    as per sig b ut it is on water
     
  7. Xionic

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 564

    Location: Rotherhan, UK

    thankyou mattio

    heres what mine will be

    i see your using the same case, that gives me a good idea of what my limits will be. how do you rate this case and its water cooling kit

    any advise on a water block for the 1900XT, or should i leave it air cooled
     
    Last edited: 6 Feb 2006
  8. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 12,123

    Location: Surrey

    2.65 watercooled for me but I think a little more (maybe 2.7/2.8) might be possible if I ever get my dfi board up and running to deliver a bit more voltage to it.
     
  9. Xionic

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 564

    Location: Rotherhan, UK

    as above, any advise on a waterblock for the 1900XT
     
  10. mattio1980

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 480

    Location: south uk

    hi the case is good but does need some modding i would start by replacing the 1400 rpm fans of the rad get a new pump ,upgrading the piping to 10mm the rad it's self works very well i run

    cpu

    gpu

    mosfet

    northbridge

    all on one loop through a passive rad halfway through the loop then back into the mosfet have a 400lph passive pump works realy good for me
     
  11. Xionic

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 564

    Location: Rotherhan, UK

    im new to water cooling could you put me some parts and prices toghether on what u advise i mod, if u cant post them (due to rules) please email them

    would be greatly appreciated

    Xionic
     
  12. mattio1980

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 480

    Location: south uk

    not a prob

    i will put it together from parts that ocuk sell then you can look around at prices


    2xAkasa AK-170CB-4BLS Crystal 4x Blue LED Fan these are very quite and 2500 rpm £6 each =£12 to replace the rad ones

    for the pump i will give u the modle number then u can google it

    12V XSPC X2O Pump/Reservoir 400lph £29.99 to replace pump as it is a pile of poo the one u get

    and some 10mm pipe will make it better about 2 meters £4

    thats about it realy

    also cant remember what fittings u get with the tai-chi think u get some 10mm ones
     
    Last edited: 6 Feb 2006
  13. Xionic

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 564

    Location: Rotherhan, UK

    thanx

    what about a VGA block? for the 1900XT any advise
     
  14. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 12,123

    Location: Surrey

    Why not just get something like an akasa eclipse/antec p180/any lian li and go fully custom with the watercooling? Then you could get proper 1/2" tubing and have free reign on the kit.. just get a full swiftech kit or swiftech pump/danger den gpu block etc?

    You seem to be limiting yourself with this case I'd call no more than reasonable?
     
  15. Bito

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,215

    Location: London

    The Swiftech MCW55 or new MCW60 both fit the X1800/1900 series :)
     
  16. mattio1980

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 480

    Location: south uk


    Alphacool NexXxoS NVXP-3 6 1800XT (same card lay out )


    these are very good
     
  17. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 12,123

    Location: Surrey

    dangerden maze 4 or x18 if you're girly and want the ram cooled..

    I would suggest you look at something like this..

    120.2 rad (+1/2" ID barbs and don;t forget ptfe tape on the barbs)
    swiftech apogee waterblock (or storm if you can get it)
    dangerden maze 4 gpu block (+ramsinks if you fancy although not necessary)
    swiftech mcp655 pump (mcp355 if space is an issue)
    fillport or res as required, any res (tankomatic/5.25 bayres etc)
    1/2" xspc tubing (almost as good as tygon and a LOT cheaper)
    worm drive clamps
    any fans you like x 2

    I would have issues with any of the swiftech push fit stuff, heard too much about them failing/not fitting your exact size of tube, I like tightening a worm drive clamp until I can;t tighten it any more.. that way you know you'll have no leaks.
     
  18. King_Boru

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,356

    Location: Canada

    I can get 2.6 on 1.525 volts. Will boot at 2.8 but needs 1.575 volts and max load was 55c which is too hot for me. waiting for water cooling to push 2.8 24/7.