1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cod2, 6600gt, dx9 mode - playable?

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by marc2003, 19 Feb 2006.

  1. marc2003

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 20,206

    Location: England

    question as title really... :)

    i'm thinking it might be ok at 800x600. can anyone confirm? will be with my sig rig so you can equate that to a single core a64 at the same speeds.

    my plans for a shiny new 7800gs have gone out the window due to my bonus from work being less than expected. :o
     
  2. dave2k2005

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 16 Dec 2005

    Posts: 742

    Location: London

    Don't worry about it at all mate, I have a X800GTO(about 25% bettter than yours) and I can play it in dx 9, 1280*1024 with 4 AA at about 30-35FPS constant :DMaybe moe, i dunno, but it was smooth the whole way through, so you'll have no rpobs playing it all hgih dx9 with some aa and a hgiher res :p
     
  3. sid

    Soldato

    Joined: 9 Feb 2003

    Posts: 5,181

    Location: London

    I played in on a 6600GT in dx9 at 1024 and unfortunately the perf was poor. that was with a 2,2gghz X2 and 1gb ram. In the end i opted to play at 1280 with dx7 which was much faster and not all that much worse gfx wise.
     
  4. Conrad11

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 5,362

    Hi there,

    I have an X800XT and I play everything a high as I could in DX 9 mode and it is playable, don't find it particuarly laggy...
     
  5. Scythe

    Soldato

    Joined: 23 Jun 2005

    Posts: 5,325

    Installed the dual core patch for cod2??
     
  6. marc2003

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 20,206

    Location: England

    well i used to have a 6800gt and that struggled at 1024x768 with everything on high so i knew that a 6600gt wouldn't cut it. that's why i asked about 800x600. as i have a crt, i think i'd rather play with nice gfx at a lower res. :p

    unless there is some crazy offer come thursday on the 7800gs/x850xt then i'm going to go for the 6600gt and save myself a few pennies. :D

    that's just great...... :confused:
     
  7. OzZie

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jul 2004

    Posts: 4,525

    Location: Nottingham

    I get loads more fps with DX7 than DX9 with both of my computers (one with x800xt and other 9800 Pro) and the graphical difference is so minor imo. With DX7, i can run both at 1280x1024 with 2/4xaa and 8x(HQ)AF.

    I would go for the higher res with AA/AF (DX7) anyday over 800x600 (DX9) with a few extra looking effects. :o
     
  8. sid

    Soldato

    Joined: 9 Feb 2003

    Posts: 5,181

    Location: London


    Yup what this guy said, Dx9 at 800x600 is just not worth it mate at all on a 6600GT. play at higher res with dx7
     
  9. Conrad11

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 5,362

    Sorry, I just thought it maybe something you can compare too....
     
  10. loltim

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 14,605

    Location: Wellington, NZ

    Just for reference, its unplayable in DX9 mode with my 7800GT.
     
  11. Conrad11

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 5,362

    Are you sure :eek: :confused:
     
  12. marc2003

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 20,206

    Location: England

    your x800xt isn't even in the same league as a 6600gt though.... :p

    i'm guessing you're talking about tft native res? as mentioned earlier i have no such problem with my ye olde crt.... :D
     
  13. loltim

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 14,605

    Location: Wellington, NZ

    Well I call 38FPS unplayable, its like slow-mo. yes 1280 x 1024 on a TFT.

    I'd go back to a CRT but my eyes are kind of important to me.
     
  14. aardvark

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 2 Jan 2005

    Posts: 8,084

    Location: leeds

    i completed it on my old 6600gt at 1280x1024 - it was around 30fps (with some teaking of the graphics settings - no shadows is a must) - i bit jerky some of the time but playable and significantly better looking than dx7 mode
     
  15. HangTime

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 25 Oct 2002

    Posts: 28,422

    Location: Hampshire

    Depends on your definition of playable, but IMO, no.

    I used dx7 mode on a 6800GT, nevermind a 6600GT. In 1600x1200 with everything except FSAA on max, I got at least double the framerate of dx9 1024x768 low/medium settings.

    The performance hit of dx9 mode is so huge that personally I wouldn't use it on anything less than a 7800GTX-512/x1800XT at the bare minimum. Some people are happy plodding along at 20-40fps, but I'm certainly not.