1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Community Fibre

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by chaosophy, 20 Aug 2018.

  1. chaosophy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Apr 2007

    Posts: 1,633

    Location: London

    https://communityfibre.co.uk/

    Received a letter this week saying that this is going to be rolled out to where I live, looks to be offering good speeds at decent prices. I'm currently with plusnet FTTC and get pretty much the max of the 80/20 speed it offers but do like the idea of full 1GB/1GB FTTP. :D


    So just wondered does anyone have - or know much about - 'Community Fibre'? Thoughts etc.

    ta.
     
  2. Ayahuasca

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Apr 2014

    Posts: 21,504

    Location: County Durham

    I’d probably just go for their 200/200 service first and if that’s not quick enough for your needs just up it to the full 1000/1000 package.
     
  3. chaosophy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Apr 2007

    Posts: 1,633

    Location: London

    So this got rolled out to my block a couple of months back and so decided to give it a go. They've got an offer on at the moment where by if you sign up for 12 months the first 6 months are £30/pm, then back up to the normal £50/pm for the 6 months after that. Free installation and kit.

    Just had it fitted this afternoon. Speed tests where a bit erratic the first hour or so but seems to be settling down now and will see how it goes over the coming days but best test so far has been 942.73 Mbps down / 913.53 Mbps up, on the same test. Have had slightly better on either up or down on other runs but this is the best so far with both over 900.

    So coming from my previous ISP's FTTC at around 74Mbps down 18Mbps up I'm pretty happy so far.

    I might end up dropping down to the cheaper 200/200 package (they do a 40/40 as well) but as someone who's been through dial-up, ISDN, ADSL, ADSL2+ and FTTC over the years I couldn't resist trying out the full fat 1000/1000. :)

    Happy to do some testing and try and answer and Qs if anyone has any. Sounding like a sales pitch I know but if you ask me something I'll try and be honest about it.
     
  4. faceman123

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jun 2011

    Posts: 2,640


    How are the pings and latency? I'm getting fttp rolled out in my street will go for 200mbs tbh but tempted by the 1gb
     
  5. chaosophy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Apr 2007

    Posts: 1,633

    Location: London

    Latency seems good, though not tested that massively. Is there anything, like a tool or something, I could run to compare?

    When I run speedtest.net it seems to always show a 1 or 2ms ping.
    Pinging a few web sites from a CMD line mainly shows 2ms.
    Played a bit of PUBG last night, not the best to test probably but that was showing around 15ms.
    Previously on plus.net 80/20 I would average more around 20ms, so not massively lower on the new connection but did seem to have less fluctuation and tbh it's probably hitting the limits of the PUBG servers would be my guess.

    So far pretty happy with it. It's also running through a bit of internal wiring.
    I'm a few floors up in a block, so their cable comes up the outside of the building and annoyingly had to come in through the bedroom.
    So there is a small plate in there and then the engineer ran extra from that out into the hallway and then into a cupboard where I had the BT engineer move my old phone line to.
    In there is a second face plate, then into their modem and then into the supplied router.
    Router is then into a cheapish tp-link switch, switch to a wall socket which is then cabled round to another socket in another room where the PC is cabled into that.
    So not a huge amount of cable but considering there is a switch and three Ethernet cables between the PC and router it seems good.

    I do have a long enough cable to reach direct from router to PC, so might test with that at some point to see if it ekes out any more speed.

    edit: Just ran a cable direct from PC to modem and got my best speedtest.net result so far..

    946.39 Mbps down / 939.89 Mbps up !

    they advertise it as 920 Mbps average, so pretty happy tbh ! :D
     
    Last edited: 30 Jan 2019
  6. TJM

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Jun 2007

    Posts: 2,379

    If it helps your decision, your pings/latency on a 200Mbps and 1Gbps FTTP connection would be exactly the same and I wouldn't expect a dramatic improvement if you are on FTTC (as your connection is already fibre virtually all of the way). I'm in central London and was pinging 5-6ms to bbc.co.uk, etc., over FTTC. I've switched to Hyperoptic in the same building and now get 1ms. While the difference is imperceptible, it is very stable.

    I'd recommend a 1Gbps service if you can get a good introductory offer and then switch at the end of the discount to a lower tier. My Hyperoptic connection is good for blitzing large game downloads but I wouldn't pay full whack for it as even Steam will rarely hit 80MB a second. For everything else, 150Mbps would be more than enough.

    This tool is about as informative as you're likely to get: http://www.dslreports.com/tools/pingtest
     
  7. chaosophy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Apr 2007

    Posts: 1,633

    Location: London

    Think I'd agree tbh, unless you really need the full bandwidth for massive uploads or downloads there comes a point where you're going to get just as good a day to day experience on the lower speeds with the same latency.
    But saying that I still went full fat, just to try it out and because it blows my mind a bit that this is even possible to get in the home. The lower cost for the first six months definitely helped and as you say I can see myself probably dropping down to a lower speed at some point.

    Once you've run a few speedtests to show off to your mates with and deleted a few Steam games, just to see how quick you can download them again, you realise that the majority of the time you're just browsing websites and streaming media with no massively obvious improvement over what you had before with FTTC.


    Results here from that test, got A+ results so seems good though I've nothing really to compare it to.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. blueacid

    Hitman

    Joined: 28 May 2007

    Posts: 615

    It's a sad thing to say, but I echo the sentiments here. I'm on 1gbps hyperoptic and, while it's lovely, I've genuinely not found any application yet where their 150mbit service is insufficient. MAYBE in the contrived example of lots of people streaming at once, but that's a way off.

    It's awesome to know that this sort of speed is available (rather than being at the maximum 80mbit of FTTC and wishing there was a bit more oomph), but when my minimum term is up I'll be looking at the pricing of their 150/150 service again.
    I figure that even if I lock in a contract at the slower speed, there won't be many companies that'll respond badly to a phone call saying "Hi, please can I upgrade my service and give you more money?"
     
  9. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 23,893

    150/150 is fine, even in a reasonable sized office that would still be enough.

    It's good that the gigabit headline is there but I've never felt even a 100Mbps connection to feel slow - the upload is very high up my list of things that are important. Things like the quality of the links out to the rest of the world, the routing, how responsive the ISP is to faults etc. are all far more important than the headline speed. Having 1Gbps service into the ISPs core is no good if at 8pm on a weekday it runs at 30Mbps with packet loss, or everything ends up routed via Amsterdam for a week because nobody in the networks team knows what they are doing.
     
  10. bulldog147

    Soldato

    Joined: 22 Mar 2009

    Posts: 5,224

    I wish to have that in my area for 150/150 :(
     
  11. GamerCub

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Apr 2014

    Posts: 90

    So now am out of contract with Virgin Media, and started the ball to leave. CF is in my block, any one wants to do a community fibre referral ?
     
  12. labcoattech

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Dec 2010

    Posts: 1,068

    Location: England

    Looks like all the providers are only concentrating on wiring up blocks :(
     
  13. GamerCub

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Apr 2014

    Posts: 90

    Am now out of my Virgin Media contract, I have set up the cancel process which takes the normal 30 days. I can get Community Fibre in my block now, I am just asking if any one is willing to do the referral for me? If your more than happy to do so, then we both get one month free. Just PM me :)

    https://www.communityfibre.co.uk/refer-friend

    Big Thanks!