1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Company Address on Website

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Chronicle, 15 Feb 2006.

  1. Chronicle

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Jul 2004

    Posts: 2,649

    Location: aberdeen

    Hi
    If you have a website for a company, do you have to have an address on there somewhere?

    What other legal things do you need? It is only a simple page, nothing like OCUK with ordering system, its for a plumbing company so its more of an advert than something to directly make money from if yo uget what i mean

    thanks
     
  2. danrok

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Jul 2004

    Posts: 676

    Since when did plumbers have to advertise for work? ;)

    I don't think you have to have a mail address on there if the site is not selling something directly.
     
  3. Chronicle

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Jul 2004

    Posts: 2,649

    Location: aberdeen

    Well its their companies website, that just basically has a contact us/about us etc.
    Ok. So its only if theres some online ordering system then, yeh?
     
  4. danrok

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Jul 2004

    Posts: 676

    It should be fine. Many plumbers and the like don't put their addresses in the yellow pages, just a phone number. There's no reason why it would be any different for a webpage based "advert".
     
  5. Oblivious

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 25 Oct 2003

    Posts: 4,028

    Location: East Midlands

    I believe its only the distance selling act, that requires companies selling online to provide an address. Since your not selling anything it wouldnt apply.

    However surely its good practice to put an address?
     
  6. Chronicle

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Jul 2004

    Posts: 2,649

    Location: aberdeen

    Yeh. I'll let the guy know (not my site, someone i know)

    thanks
     
  7. vaultingSlinky

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Apr 2004

    Posts: 2,708

    Location: Aberdeen

    Unless your a dodgy plumber and dont want people throwing bricks through your window i would personally put an address on :p, legally i dont think you have to
     
  8. Cuchulain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Dec 2004

    Posts: 7,627

    Location: Derry

    I'm sure there was some regulations from the DTI back in 2003 that specified you should have information regarding the web site's terms of use and privacy policy, not sure if the latter applies if you're not collecting any personallly identifiable material though, the terms of use would generally contain the contact address, company number & registered address (if it's a limited company)
     
  9. Burbleflop

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 4,247

    Location: Away from here

    I believe you need to have the registered address of the company on the website (which may be different from the actual trading/office address).
     
  10. Al Vallario

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,534

    Location: UK

    Not sure about putting the address on the website itself (Surely that's a bit trivial though?), but businesses with uk domain names can't opt-out of having their contact details (address, phone number) in WHOIS records.
     
  11. n3vrmind

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Feb 2004

    Posts: 1,439

    Location: Loughborough

    sorry i know this is completely OT :rolleyes: but i noticed in your specs you have a z1p in a shuttle SN25P, just wonderin how well it fits, was there a big drop in noise and could you use the vga block without blocking the other slot?
     
  12. Burbleflop

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 4,247

    Location: Away from here

    It fits well, but the CPU bracket that comes with the kit doesn't fit, you need the S478 (I think) bracket. I hacked up the ICE module from the SN25P to make it fit. There was a huge drop in noise, the thing is now almost silent.

    I'm not sure if the VGA block blocks the other PCIe slot though, I'll take a look when I get home next week.

    Probably best to email me (address in trust) if you've got any other questions save redrailing the thread too much.