Complete newbie...this is for my 15 yr old boy

Associate
Hi

I have a "gaming pc" that is 10 years old guys. Its a packard bell ipower 2.0 with 6gb of ram, intel core i5 cpu750 @ 2.67.Ghz lynfield tech. Im planning on upgrading the graphics card to ATO Radeon rx570....just so he cam play fortnight. Pc was given to me for free from a stranger. I know what im doing but not when it comes to gaming. I know fortnite specs....its for his 16th. Motherboard model - ipower g3610 (cpu 1) chipset model - DMI host bridge.....socket 1156. Done a bit of research and im just asking you guys for help....be nice, im new.
Ta fellas

J

Associate
Well adding the rx570 will help a lot. But lets not pretend that the rest of it is anything other than coffin dodger spec.
At least if you add the rx570 the now you can upgrade the rest down the line and still have a reasonable 1080p graphics card to use.

Associate
I dont know, whats the min spec for fortnite?

What OS is on the machine? 6gb of ram is not great but it may be enough.

Edit had a look and it just sort of squeezes in after minimum spec so should be ok but will not be as good as a more powerful machine.

Associate
Well adding the rx570 will help a lot. But lets not pretend that the rest of it is anything other than coffin dodger spec.

sorry, had to reply to this thread. lol, coffin dodger spec? I've currently got a win7 i7 920 with 6gb of ram and an r9 280 graphics card - cpu is probably about the same age as the i5 750. Yeah, i'm looking to upgrade to a new build. Anyway, that i7 920 build stills runs games like the division 2 (released a few months ago) just fine @1080p.