1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

composition

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by Marik, 13 Jan 2006.

  1. Marik

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Nov 2005

    Posts: 102

    hola guys,

    I'm having real trouble with composition on my photos, any bits of advice you can give me to help me?

    Love Dan
     
  2. mrgubby

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,904

    Location: 30 miles north of London

    Post some of your shots & people can tell you what they think you are doing right/wrong :)
     
  3. Marik

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Nov 2005

    Posts: 102

    Ok, these are from a recent trip to italy, with a canon 350d on P mode :D

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Marik

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Nov 2005

    Posts: 102

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    the rest are http://homepage.ntlworld.com/nick.harris/dan/Photos/

    These are prolly the best ones, i have done little proccessing on them.. i was going to make another thread about processing, coz i have no idea how to do it. So there you go, laugh away

    Dan
     
  5. cyKey

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 9,814

    Location: Nr. Liverpewl

    Quick tip on processing. Both Raw Shooter and Photoshop CS2 will be able to automatically adjust your photos to what it thinks is the best settings for exposure and white balance. As for the composition, they don't seem badly composed just maybe uninteresting subjects. The classic icey mountain shot usually has something to indicate a sense of scale, and I don't mean a guy with a ruler in the shot ;)

    Ah the 4th one would have worked better with that church like building in the shot and the mountains behind.
     
  6. Marik

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Nov 2005

    Posts: 102

    hm.. thats what i used rawshooter thingy, was recommened, prolly by yourself at some point. I didn;t know that no. hm.. Yes the first 3 shots are 3.5k metres up so.. :/
     
  7. cyKey

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 9,814

    Location: Nr. Liverpewl

    In RawShooter, push alt+e for auto exposure and alt+w for auto white balance. It should make a difference.
     
  8. Marik

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Nov 2005

    Posts: 102

    ok will have a look thanks

    any tips for photoshop processing?
     
  9. mrgubby

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,904

    Location: 30 miles north of London

    With snowy shots I usually play with brightness/shadow/highlight/saturation to perk things up a bit. Gave your church one a quick fiddle :

    [​IMG]

    Gets mucked up with jpeg compression when posting :(
     
  10. Marik

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Nov 2005

    Posts: 102

    wow, thats really good. yeah i have the raw shots here tho

    how do you add a border? i dont even know how you do that, shamefull eh :(
     
  11. Marik

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Nov 2005

    Posts: 102

    hm... looks like my photoshop cant support raw :(

    only have ps 7.0
     
  12. mrgubby

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,904

    Location: 30 miles north of London

    easiest way to do a simple border is to increase the canvas size while changing the background colour. I increased it by 2 pixels @ black then 16 @ white giving a 1 pixel black border with a 8 pixel white border evenly spaced round it


    Hope that made sense :)


    //edit // only using Elements 3.0 here
     
  13. cyKey

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 9,814

    Location: Nr. Liverpewl

    Raw Shooter for the Raw conversion to jpg, edit the jpg in Photoshop.
     
  14. Marik

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Nov 2005

    Posts: 102

    ooooh wicked
     
  15. Marik

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Nov 2005

    Posts: 102

    i hate to be the noob, but how do you increase the canvas size and do to a certain colour?
     
  16. mrgubby

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,904

    Location: 30 miles north of London

    Usually under image size , colour is set by background/foreground.
     
  17. Marik

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Nov 2005

    Posts: 102

    ah cool, thats easy :p
     
  18. Carrot

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Apr 2004

    Posts: 279

    Location: Hartlepool

    Image menu -> Canvas Size... Then tick the 'relative' check box, type in your border width and choose the colour from the thingy at the bottom.
     
  19. MichaelG

    Gangster

    Joined: 10 Aug 2005

    Posts: 237

    Location: Cambridge, UK

    Going back a bit to your question on composition.
    By the look of it there was some really stunning scenary around you.
    I've got a lot of shots like your first 2 from walking in the alps and up in scotland.
    I've come to think that the problem with these shots are that you can't put them into any sort of 'context', there is no horizon, sky or trees to give the picture scale. There is also no real 'focus' or 'subject' to draw the eye.
    When you're there its amazing, and when you look at those shots I'm sure you can put them exactly into the right place in your mind, but for someone who wasn't there, they don't 'mean' a great deal.
    These are good photos if YOU like them, but they probably won't capture the imagination of anyone else, because they won't make them feel like they are there
    Just my thoughts..... Keep it up
     
  20. Marik

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Nov 2005

    Posts: 102

    You right, thats exactly it!

    And you're right theres nothing to put it into context, and when i look at them i can see it for whats it like, you're a star mate. Thanks very much, made me feel much better. Dan