1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Computer died... HHD?? MOBO??

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by boYce, 12 May 2006.

  1. boYce

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 625

    Location: Nottingham

    I turned on my pc yesterday and it stopped in the on the boot up screen with the message of something like "Your cpu has been changed or damaged please re-enter the setting in the bios..." for some reason i pressed reset without going into the bios. The next time it booted up the fans came of full blast (which they always do, but normally die down to almost nothing after the first 4 seconds) and didn't die down. The monitor went black and displayed the no signal logo. It just sat there with a blank screen and fans going full blast. I reset it again and still couldnt get it any where, not even to display the bios info at the start. since then i have tried turning it on many times and always just got the same thing apart from one time when it booted up normally got onto windows and once the desktop had loaded it all cut out and turned off.

    At first i thought it might be a problem with the hard drive (raptor 74GB) as for the last 3 months it had been stalling on a blank screen for a few seconds between showing the windows logo and making it onto the desktop.

    now im thinking it must be the motherboard because if it was the hard drive it would still display the bios info when it first booted up.

    PC: Shuttle SN95G5 v1, raptor 74GB (windows + programs), 2nd HDD WD 250GB (music, etc.), AMD 64 3500+, crosair 2x 500MB

    Thanks for any help guys cause im totally stuck.
    Dave
     
  2. quadboi

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 28 Feb 2006

    Posts: 1,606

    Hm, thats a hard one, think the mobo has been damaged by the raptor? Im thinking this cant occur aswell...
     
  3. leezer3

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Jan 2006

    Posts: 2,955

    Location: Norwich

    Sounds like the mobo has gone to pot to me. The pausing before loading Windows could have been due to a failing NB chip if you were using the NV Raid ports. (Sorry, don't know enough about the mobo to tell you much more)

    -Leezer-
     
  4. boYce

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 625

    Location: Nottingham

    i took the whole thing apart and put it back together this morning. on the first boot after i had reassembled it it made it onto windows then died as soon as the desktop had loaded and now is back to being totally dead like it was before.

    are we thinking it is definitly the motherboard?
     
  5. quadboi

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 28 Feb 2006

    Posts: 1,606

    Yep Ithink it is after that :(