1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Computer Lockups

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Chronictank, 25 Mar 2006.

  1. Chronictank

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jan 2006

    Posts: 2,548

    I am getting random lockup's,
    i ran memtest and got no errors so it cant be the ram

    -AMD Opteron UP 165 Dual Core San Diego 1.8GHz 2MB Cache (Socket 939) - Retail (CP-151-AM)
    -DFI LanParty UT NF4 Ultra-D (Socket 939) PCI-Express Motherboard (MB-014-DF)
    -HIS Excalibur ATI Radeon X1900 XT 512MB GDDR3 AVIVO TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (GX-048-HT)
    -Western Digital Raptor 74GB WD740GD 10,000RPM SATA 8MB Cache - OEM (HD-015-WD)
    -G.Skill 2GB DDR HS PC3200 (2x1GB) CAS2.5 Dual Channel Kit (F1-3200USU2-2GBHS) (MY-007-GS)
    -Seasonic S12 600W Silent ATX2.0 Power Supply (CA-002-SS)
    -Zalman CNPS9500-LED Aero Flower

    i have the cpu at 2.3Ghz and it doesnt go over 45oC even at full load
    I am running the newest Omega drivers


    any suggestions of what it could be?
    are there any tools to test all the components seperately/together to see what is the culprit
     
    Last edited: 26 Mar 2006
  2. AMDX23800+

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Mar 2006

    Posts: 676

    ummm....
    Double check all your temps including motherboard, CPU, Graphics GPU EVERYTHING and make sure nothing is getting too hot !
    It COULD also be a software problem, try a system restore to earliest date possible.
     
  3. Chronictank

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jan 2006

    Posts: 2,548

    thing is this is a brand new install
    only things i been playing with is the Ati drivers as i had some problems finding stable ones

    Been playing godfather for 3 hrs
    CPU: 38oC
    PWM: 51oC
    Chipset: 51oC
    Gfx Card: 62oC (is this hot for a X1900xt card?)
     
  4. turbotoaster

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,194

    ya should be fine with them temps, how much vcore are ya using, have ya tried prime95 nthat may give ya a clue
     
  5. Chronictank

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jan 2006

    Posts: 2,548

    oki i will give prime 95 a go :)
    i have set it to 1.40 v in the bios but i havent really seen it go above 1.37 yet
     
    Last edited: 26 Mar 2006