1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Computer not detecting wireless network.

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Brains, 14 May 2006.

  1. Brains

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Apr 2006

    Posts: 148

    I have enabled my wireless ap, but the things i am trying are just not allowing my computer to detect the router, just keep getting 'no wireless networks in range' or something similar. What can i do to make it detect it?

    Cheers.
     
  2. Jasperado

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Jul 2003

    Posts: 1,034

    Location: Scotlandshire

    Make sure it is broadcasting ssid.
     
  3. Brains

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Apr 2006

    Posts: 148

    The router is on, wireless ap is on, and the hidden ssid, tick box is empty.
     
  4. errata

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,881

    Try changing the ssid! Apply and reboot router.
     
  5. just_grass

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Dec 2003

    Posts: 975

    Location: Bedford/Derby, UK

    ensure it is on the correct channel - although chances are this is OK, i think some adaptors cannot see channels higher than 11.

    ie 12 and 13 - due to some country legal lmitations (i think the UK can have channels 1-13), but some equipment may be from the US or something like that.....

    in short: use a channel between 1 and 11.

    Alex
     
  6. Brains

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Apr 2006

    Posts: 148

    All ok, still not working.
     
  7. crashuk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 2,691

    disable DHCP service on the access point
    assign a unique, static IP address to the access point that falls within the router's allowed address range
    Select AP mode

    Set the Channel and SSID
     
  8. Brains

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Apr 2006

    Posts: 148

    Channel is 11.
    Can i check my computer is on 11 aswell or should it scan all channels?

    I would be doing this is 'Lan Configuration' 'WLAN Interface', that sound right?
     
  9. crashuk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 2,691

    see if its on the same channel
     
  10. Brains

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Apr 2006

    Posts: 148

    How?
     
  11. just_grass

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Dec 2003

    Posts: 975

    Location: Bedford/Derby, UK

    checkout Netstumbler - it is a piece of software that uses your wifi adaptpr to search and scan for local networks. it will show the strength of signals, channels, SSIDs, and show the signal strength even if the ssid is hidden(afaik)....

    Could be useful.....

    Alex
     
  12. michellez

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 Mar 2005

    Posts: 326

    Location: London, England

    IP address is going have nothing to do with this at the moment - It's not even associating with the AP at this point

    Have you tried downloading and installing the latest drivers for your wireless card?

    Your SSID - is it just one word? no spaces / funny characters / stupidly long?

    What AP and wireless network card are you using out of interest?

    You don't need to tell you're machine what channel either.
     
  13. Brains

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Apr 2006

    Posts: 148

    No just a basic word, all drivers up to date, its a toshiba L10-300 laptop, the wireless card is a 'INPROCOMM IPN2220 WIRELESS LAN CARD' standard in the laptop and i'm trying to connect to a 'DYNAMODE R-ASDL-C4WG USB REMOTE NDIS DEVICE', those are the names from device manager.
     
  14. crashuk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 2,691

  15. crashuk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 2,691

    oh how about your firewall on the pc did you alter it to allow the card to work.
     
    Last edited: 15 May 2006
  16. Brains

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Apr 2006

    Posts: 148

    No, haven't done anything network related to norton or windows firewall as yet.
     
  17. crashuk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 2,691

    brains you have voip?
     
  18. Brains

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Apr 2006

    Posts: 148

  19. crashuk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 2,691

    do this uninstall the wireless card on your laptop the turn it of then remove the card, turn on the laptop then install the drivers for the card and then turn it off install the card turn it ok, make sure there is no cable to the router from the laptop or pc, then run that programe.
     
  20. crashuk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 2,691

    after youve done that get the pc/laptop and move it next to the ap ( so its 2 meter from your ap), then test it again.