1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Computer shuts itself down?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by cdc1287, 19 Feb 2010.

  1. cdc1287

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Feb 2010

    Posts: 18

    Hi guys,

    I have a problem with my computer.

    I have recently fully upgraded my PC which is using Windows 7 64. I have:

    I7 920 @ 4ghz(From OCUK)
    Sapphire 5970 (From OCUK)

    My PSU is a 1000W Alienware.


    I have just installed the new Aliens Versus Predator.

    However at a random time during playing, my computer will shut itself down and then proceed to reboot.

    I have gone into Event Viewer and I have seen these Critical errors:

    Log Name: System
    Source: Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power
    Date: 19/02/2010 12:04:49
    Event ID: 41
    Task Category: (63)
    Level: Critical
    Keywords: (2)
    User: SYSTEM
    Computer: Chris-PC
    Description:
    The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first. This error could be caused if the system stopped responding, crashed, or lost power unexpectedly.
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power" Guid="{331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}" />
    <EventID>41</EventID>
    <Version>2</Version>
    <Level>1</Level>
    <Task>63</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x8000000000000002</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2010-02-19T12:04:49.142415200Z" />
    <EventRecordID>10651</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="4" ThreadID="8" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>Chris-PC</Computer>
    <Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data Name="BugcheckCode">0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter1">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter2">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter3">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter4">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="SleepInProgress">false</Data>
    <Data Name="PowerButtonTimestamp">0</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>

    Could someone please help me with this? I really don't understand why it has suddenly started to reboot. It has not happened on other games as of yet.

    I would really appreciate some help.


    Thanks,

    Chris
     
    Last edited: 19 Feb 2010
  2. MonkeykingZX

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Sep 2009

    Posts: 1,170

    Location: Cambridgeshire

    it's the psu, i've had that problem with psu's in the past and the only solution is to replace it

    it's probs not that it's faulty just that it's not good enough to be frank, i fear a 4ghz 920 and a 5970 may be too much for that psu despite the apparent wattage, how old is the psu?

    although if it's only happening in avp then it's probs software related, try running some different games/programs and see what happens

    (sorry if that sounded a bit harsh)
     
  3. cdc1287

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Feb 2010

    Posts: 18

    Im not sure how old it is. I bought an alienware pc 3 years ago. Still using that PSU from it.
     
  4. MonkeykingZX

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Sep 2009

    Posts: 1,170

    Location: Cambridgeshire

    try stock clocking everything and run avp again
     
  5. cdc1287

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Feb 2010

    Posts: 18

    Hey, I just ran AVP for a good solid 2 hours or so. No problems and then BAM, computer shuts itself down.

    Before it shut down after 10-20 miniutes. But this time it lasted 2 hours before shutting down.


    Does that mean anything to someone ?


    Thanks,


    Chris
     
  6. EsaT

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Jun 2008

    Posts: 9,719

    Location: Finland

    Actually power draw wise no game will get anything close to running Linpack and FurMark simultaneously so that would be good way to check is it PSU stumbling.


    I saw enough from their cases couple years ago to know that Alienware equals to over priced junk.
     
  7. MonkeykingZX

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Sep 2009

    Posts: 1,170

    Location: Cambridgeshire

    this is what i'm worried about, i doubt that alienware psu has much in the way of quality and efficiency compared to a 700w corsair, ocz or seasonic psu
     
  8. cdc1287

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Feb 2010

    Posts: 18

    What would you guys recomend I do?

    I can play football manager 2010 indefinitly with no shut downs.

    Would you recomend I buy a new psu? Are there any tests i can do?

    Thank you,


    Chris
     
  9. MonkeykingZX

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Sep 2009

    Posts: 1,170

    Location: Cambridgeshire

    run some stress tests Linpack and furmark as EsaT said would do the job if it fails during that then getting something like the 750/850 modular corsair psu might fit the bill
     
  10. EsaT

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Jun 2008

    Posts: 9,719

    Location: Finland

    As default Windows also reboots instead of showing error message in system failure (BSOD) situation so automatic restart should be disabled.
    Computer > Properties > Advanced System Settings > Startup and Recovery

    Also running other heavy games would be god way, you never know how much bugs there are in certain game.
    Like when I started playing FarCry2 with current rig: Enabling FSAA in game messed graphics after few seconds crashing game and Win7 telling about GPU driver having restarted (or something) but after updating game there haven't been any problems.
     
  11. cdc1287

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Feb 2010

    Posts: 18

    How long should i let Linpack and furmark run for ?