1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

computer wont boot after oc

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by hardkore, 2 Mar 2006.

  1. hardkore

    Mobster

    Joined: 13 Mar 2004

    Posts: 2,937

    Location: Norfolk

    hey

    Right i just literally built my rig (in sig) about 4 hours ago and just installed all the utilities on the mobo disk, namely AI ***. This program lets you adjust fan speeds, volts, timings and mhz of your CPU, GPU etc. Now me being me i couldnt help myself having a fiddle and now its all gone abit wrong :(

    In the AI *** i changed the 3200+ from 2ghz to 2.3ghz in windows. Now when i changed it the system was running fine and no problems what so ever. Then i decided to put the settings back to 2ghz as i didnt really need to overclock my system just yet. Now i tried changing the cpu speed back to 2ghz in windows but immediatly after i clicked apply the system just locked up completly. I restarted it using the case restart button and tried a few more times but still locked up when i tried to put the clock back to default.

    Now when i try to boot up the pc starts fine except my monitor just says " no input signal" and i dont know whats going on. I only had it at 2.3ghz for literally 5 minutes so i dont think i have damaged the cpu :confused:

    The mobo is supposed to have some sort of crashbios which if the system becomes unstable after a change to the bios it resets itself automatically. Although the last time i went into the bios the cpu speed still read 2300mhz and i cant lower it any in the bios.

    im cacking my pants here, anyone know whats going on?

    cheers :(
     
  2. XtAsY

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Feb 2006

    Posts: 572

    Location: Chelmsford, Essex

    Most likely all you need to do is reset the CMOS, (I've had this problem before with overclocking and a simple clear CMOS operarion fixed it for me many times). Look at the manual for your motherboard and find the location of the clear CMOS jumper. Once the CMOS is cleared, all settings will be returned to their defaults and everything should be fine.
     
  3. CaNNoN_1981

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Aug 2004

    Posts: 732

    Location: Bury

    Little tip for the future too, ALWAYS overclock in bios, NEVER overclock in windows, things just go wrong when ya oc in windows.
     
  4. uk_james

    Associate

    Joined: 10 Jan 2004

    Posts: 73

    plus....always make sure your pci/agp are locked
     
  5. CaNNoN_1981

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Aug 2004

    Posts: 732

    Location: Bury

    Best thing to do is follow the overclocking sticky thread in this forum.
     
  6. King_Boru

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,356

    Location: Canada

    couldnt agree more.

    reset the CMOS and overclock from the BIOS. if you still get no signal on the monitor remove the gfx and re-seat it.

    King.
     
  7. hardkore

    Mobster

    Joined: 13 Mar 2004

    Posts: 2,937

    Location: Norfolk

    thanks for the replies. Just removed the battery on the mobo and all is well once more :) phew! :D

    lesson learnt!