1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Confused about conroe.

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Servo, 31 Jul 2006.

  1. Servo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: Cumbria

    Can someone post the stock fsb and multi's of the chips. 6300 6400 and 6600. I'm so confused on how they get the speeds of the chip. Other than I'm guessing they use a higher fsb than the 200?
     
  2. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    7x266 = 1.86Ghz = E6300
    8x266 = 2.13Ghz = E6400
    9x266 = 2.4Ghz = E6600

    :)
     
  3. Servo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: Cumbria

    thankyou smids, that clears it up for me. I bought an asrock m/b off MM, and I believe the highest fsb it will do is 300fsb. So I might be better off buying the 6600 when it's available.
     
  4. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    Most likely - even that can only manage 2.7ghz though :(.
     
  5. H3x0rc!st

    Gangster

    Joined: 13 Nov 2002

    Posts: 315

    Wish E6600 was in stock :(
     
  6. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    So do a lot of people. Guess they'll just have to wait :D :p.
     
  7. Servo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: Cumbria

    I may get another m/b later, just need too find the wife another job, I'm sure she could manage along with her other 2, she only sleeps at night, so she could be earning more money on nightshift in the hospital.
     
  8. Tafkap

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Jul 2003

    Posts: 214

    :)

    Chivalry is not dead after all.

    I'm sure she'd be HONOURED to help fund your computing needs. More power to her, I hope she gets as much satisfaction as you will.
     
  9. Raj

    Gangster

    Joined: 28 Jul 2006

    Posts: 107

    I know this is a bit of a hijak, but it is worth buying the 6400 over the 6300, its only £30?
     
  10. Servo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: Cumbria

    From what I have read today, you would get a better clock out of the 6400.
     
  11. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,796

    Location: Autonomy

    The extra multi might well help in overclocking as you do not need as high fsb to get the same clock.
     
  12. Raj

    Gangster

    Joined: 28 Jul 2006

    Posts: 107

    I get that basically say i get a gigabyte ds3 and it can hold a FSB of 400, it follows that:

    E6300 = 7 X 400 = 2.8 Ghz
    E6400 = 8 X 400 = 3.2 GHz

    But in real terms how much differance would i see between the different clock speeds? Anyhting noticable in games/multitasking, i do not really encode that much other then the odd DVD.
     
  13. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,796

    Location: Autonomy

    Just get the cheapest then.

    At 2.8ghz it still whoops an FX 62 :D
     
  14. Jimbo

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,024

    Location: Newcastle, England

    How did you miss the bit on the Conroe page where it tells you the stock speeds? :confused:

    Intel Core 2 DUO Extreme Edition X6800 "LGA775 Conroe" 2.93GHz (1066FSB) - Retail (CP-130-IN)

    Dual Core Technology
    - 2.93GHz clock speed
    - 4MB L2 Cache
    - Intel Speedstep Technology
    - EM64T 64-Bit Technology
    - Execute Disable Bit
    - Cooler running technology, less heat and less noise!
    - Supplied with Intel referance heatsink & fan


    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/Intel_Pentium_Core_Duo2.html
     
  15. killer_uk

    OcUK Staff

    Joined: 12 Mar 2003

    Posts: 4,070

    Location: OcUK HQ

    Maybe he was confused by the "(1066FSB)" part and he didn't know that its 266 'quad pumped'
     
  16. Servo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: Cumbria

    Thanks Killer, you hit the nail on the head.