1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Confused About Speedfan's Data

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Greenlizard0, 18 Sep 2007.

  1. Greenlizard0

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 15 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,189

    Location: Liverpool

    Hi, I need some help deciphering what it is that Speedfan is telling me:

    http://img206.imageshack.us/img206/1927/speedfanstemperaturesez6.jpg
    [​IMG]

    What temperature sensors are there on my motherboard? What on earth is at 103C?

    I have in my system:

    Asus M2N-E
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 6000+ 3.00GHz (AM2)
    Zalman CPU cooler
    2GB PC5300 DDR2 RAM
    2x 36GB Raptors, 2x 500GB WD
    2x Samsung Optical DVD-RW drives
    BFG 640MB 8800 GTS
    Creative X-Fi Fata1ty
    2x USB2 PCI cards
    1x USB + Firewire PCI Card

    Any help will be gratefully received.
     
    Last edited: 18 Sep 2007
  2. Pulse

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jul 2006

    Posts: 3,503

    Location: Taunton

    can you verify what cpu? XP3000+ with pc5400 and a 8800GTS???

    right to start off with i would have said that internal temp and remote temp and just dodgy fake readings, it can happen. so if you go to configure and just untick them so they dont show, also cpu is obviously not the right one so diable that

    and on the basis of normal readings i would say temp1(top one) - cpu, temp2 - case, temp3 - chipset, temp1(bottom one) - possibly dodgy, core(top one) - core1, core(bottom one) - gpu core temp

    edit: just checked mobo, am2. so its not XP3000 its a 64 3000 AM2

    also use the program coretemp to verify which reading is most like the core temp that it shows, im expecting it to either be temp1(bottom one) or core(top one) . other then that im pretty sure its right.
     
    Last edited: 18 Sep 2007
  3. Greenlizard0

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 15 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,189

    Location: Liverpool

    Hi, thanks for your quick reply.

    That makes a lot of sense cheers fella. It's a relief, I knew one or two had to be dodgy readings. The GPU temperature matches Riva's temperature as well.
     
  4. Pulse

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jul 2006

    Posts: 3,503

    Location: Taunton

    not bad for a quick quess at it then, well hope your sorted now :)
     
  5. badbob

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 27 Jan 2006

    Posts: 7,298

    Just run cpu burn in, pay attention what readings go up, those will be your CPU/core.
     
  6. Deiwos

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Nov 2006

    Posts: 3,180

    Dunno, but your BIOS might have temp readings. They're usually the most accurate.
     
  7. helmutcheese

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 19 Jun 2007

    Posts: 11,050

    Location: InURmama

    Double check the correct reading in the bios and turn of the others as Speedfan is reading all the chips.

    If fans read dmad high rpm,s you have use a divider.

    This new build has only just added proper support for your mobo and newer, I has the beta's, it used to get some weird reading on Asus newer mobos.
     
  8. Pulse

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jul 2006

    Posts: 3,503

    Location: Taunton

    BIOS is the most accurate but will have different readings to those in Windows, mainly from the fact that when in the BIOS its using nearly 100% of the cpu meaning that its making it work its hardest and thus its going to show a lot warmer in BIOS then it might on desktop. dont quote me on that but i have heard it from several places.

    and it is best to keep an eye on all temps so you know what is going on and where.
     
  9. Greenlizard0

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 15 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,189

    Location: Liverpool

    Hmm...it might be worth buying a temperature probe or something..