1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Confused with 2Gig kits!!

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Bri62, 20 Jan 2006.

  1. Bri62

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Oct 2004

    Posts: 664

    Location: Widnes, Cheshire

    Hi
    1 Is it better to go for low latencys or higher fsb?(gaming)
    2 If i ran some low latency ram on a divider say 166 would it impact the overall performace of my system drastically looking at 250 ish fsb
    3 Looking at my system specs what kit would suit me best???
    Many thanks
     
  2. 4Qman

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Dec 2005

    Posts: 908

    Location: UK

    Well as you have the FX57 CPU you are laughing. You pay the extra for that chip as it has an unlocked multi.

    So you wont have to use a divider as you can change the Multi to suite the CPU and ram clock speeds.

    With regards to what to get, id go for the 2x1GB G Skill Kit PC4000 Kit IMO that is.

    Just leaves you to sell the Gskill Ram u have now.Hint :D
     
    Last edited: 20 Jan 2006
  3. Bri62

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Oct 2004

    Posts: 664

    Location: Widnes, Cheshire

    So if i understand you right your saying that 250/13 3-4-4-8 is going to be better for gaming than say 200/16 2-3-2-5 ?
     
  4. Scoobie Dave

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 16 Sep 2003

    Posts: 2,901

    Location: Plugged into the Matrix

    I think you might want to read this thread m8 ;)

    http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=27875

    From what I can tell 200+HTT 2-2-2-5 is what you want to aim for. High HTT does not benifit on the A64 platform, only Intel.
     
  5. 4Qman

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Dec 2005

    Posts: 908

    Location: UK

    Well there are alot of toughts on this but remember most sets will do both. the PC4000 sets would do 2-3-2-5 as the low latency stuff would do.

    250Mhz 3-3-3-8 on the ram would be better than having 200Mhz 2-3-2-5 mate
     
  6. 4Qman

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Dec 2005

    Posts: 908

    Location: UK

    Well there are alot of toughts on this but remember most sets will do both. the PC4000 sets would do 2-3-2-5 as the low latency stuff would do both aswell
    give or take some.
     
  7. man_from_uncle

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,345

    I've not yet heard of a 2 gig PC4000 set doing 2-3-2-5 at 200mhz. As far as I am aware good PC4000 sticks tend to have a better top end in terms of FSB, but good PC3200 gets better timings at the low end. I've not seen anyone boast about great timings with PC4000 at any speed. The lower speed/lower latency sets on the other hand may not go as far, but they'll shine in the 200-250 bracket.

    I've currently got my 3500LLs to 236 at 2-3-2-6. But they can also hit 260 at 2.5-3-3-6. I've not played with enough 2 gig sets to know if these sweet spots are better than 270-290 at 3-4-4-8 which some PC4000 can do comfortabley without burning out, but i know there's no beating them in that lower range FSB band.
     
  8. Bri62

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Oct 2004

    Posts: 664

    Location: Widnes, Cheshire

    Scooby Dave thanks for that link it kinda opens your eyes a bit, just going to enjoy my games and leave the benchies to the overclockers i'm not interested in 2-5% gains in benchies with no actual benifit in the way it runs games :) i think i'll opt for the low latency as i got a fx chip and can up the multi rather than rely on the fsb
     
    Last edited: 20 Jan 2006
  9. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    Yup, everyone should read this. So scoobie, are you going for ZX or HZ? I'm very happy with my ZX now. Running stock volts and timings @ 208mhz with probably more up to say 215mhz, where people have to loosen given what I've seen.
     
  10. Bito

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,215

    Location: London

    If you bench then just get a pair of 2 x 256/512 BH-5's for that and for those that do not, the PC4000 sticks should be good to go :)

    smids...are the ZX's game stable pls....as many have said that the infineon based ram is unstable when pushed with 3d stuff?

    Thanks
     
  11. Scoobie Dave

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 16 Sep 2003

    Posts: 2,901

    Location: Plugged into the Matrix

    Think im going to go with the ZX and try some tight timings. Smids what voltage are you putting through your ZX?
     
  12. Bito

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,215

    Location: London

    I just did some brief testing and BH-5 at 241 CL2/5/2/2 1T (5:6) beats TCCD at 290 CL2.5 7/3/3 1T (1:1)....all else equal at 10 x 290HTT.
    This was using 3dmark2k1; Comanche 4 demo and Aquamark.
     
  13. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    Perfectly game stable. Played HL2 for 2.5 hours last night.

    @Scoobie: 2.8v :).
     
  14. Scoobie Dave

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 16 Sep 2003

    Posts: 2,901

    Location: Plugged into the Matrix

    I wonder with a little more voltage if you could get it to go 2-2-2-5 1T . . .

    Maybe with turning on the 0.3v option perhaps?
     
  15. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    I tried 2-2-2-5 1T but it popped up about 5 errors per pass of memtest test 5 (on stock volts) so with a little tweaking I'm sure it's possible but tbh, not worth it. TRCD is one of the least important of the 4 offering the smallest gain IIRC.
     
  16. Bri62

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Oct 2004

    Posts: 664

    Location: Widnes, Cheshire

    I have just ordered the ZX after reading through the link provided by scooby going to run at 200/16 2-3-2-5 1T that should fulfill my gaming needs for a while :D P.S. very good price for 2Gig ;)
     
  17. Scoobie Dave

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 16 Sep 2003

    Posts: 2,901

    Location: Plugged into the Matrix

    Well im gonna order some ZX soon. ;)

    Edit: Ordered :D
     
    Last edited: 22 Jan 2006
  18. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    Make sure it fits your dividers etc Scoobie. I know it will for me and Bri62 due to his FX. So long as you can keep the tight timings (close to 200ish), then go for it.
     
  19. Scoobie Dave

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 16 Sep 2003

    Posts: 2,901

    Location: Plugged into the Matrix

    Well like I said before im going to run it:

    250HTT x11 with a 183 Divider = 211HTT for the memory with 2-3-2-5 timings.

    Should be able to handle 211fsb I think.
     
  20. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    My ZX's are currently running 3-3-3-7 1T 250mhz (should I feel the need for HZ performance :D) memtesting now but looking good. 2.8v. Use the orange slots Scoob. My Zx's wouldn't even get past the bit where it says 'verifying dmi pool data, backup cmos' with them in the yellow slots, even at CAS3 225mhz. Now at cas 3 250mhz in orange slots, boots fine and has passed 9 loops of test 5 memtest so far.

    Will update further tomorrow. :)