1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Conroe releases at B-2 Stepping

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by lay-z-boy, 7 Jul 2006.

  1. lay-z-boy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 9,231

    Location: Nantwich

    http://www.hkepc.com/bbs/itnews.php?tid=627088&starttime=0&endtime=0

    Intel hints that Conroe is going to release at B-2 Stepping as Intel Core 2 Duo processor. As for the previous version, a problem was found to make the system full loaded. It’s only solved in the new stepping. We don’t encourage anyone to buy the engineering sample from the web. The retail version is going to release in the end of this month, and it’s much stable.

    Thats gonna **** off a few people who have early versions.
     
  2. Sem

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,553

    Location: London

    serves them right for not waiting :D
     
  3. Tigjaw

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Oct 2005

    Posts: 659

    Location: West Midlands

    Sorry, I'm not quite as technically-minded when it comes to hard-ware so this may seem a stupid question, but the conroes on sale at overclockers will be fine wont they?
     
  4. lay-z-boy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 9,231

    Location: Nantwich

    aye, i think so.

    It is the showoff's who have ES versions that will suffer. :)
     
  5. SimonMaltby

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Nov 2002

    Posts: 2,219

    Location: Somerset

    But all the people with ES's are interested in is getting some benchmarks that are well ahead of eveyone else. I doubt many will keep them once Conroe is out properly...

    One thought though... they may have to sell them cheap :)
     
  6. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,806

    Location: Autonomy

    [​IMG]

    Seems its something like this info from xs
     
  7. Iraklis F.C.

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Nov 2003

    Posts: 6,433

    Location: Thessaloniki

    i dont think these ES chips have any problem at all, intel wants to discourage people buying ES chips for some reason.
     
  8. Devious

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Dec 2003

    Posts: 3,845

    Location: UK

    Q.F.T
     
  9. Corasik

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,002

    Location: West Midlands

    Just guessing, Perhaps the 'problem' that intel have resolved on the B2 stepping is the reported high cpu load on hardware assisted raid.
     
  10. lay-z-boy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 9,231

    Location: Nantwich

    that doesnt show anything, its pure speculation.

    Personally i wouldnt want to spend my money on a faulty chip, no matter how large or small the fault is.
     
  11. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    Maybe they just don't want people to have an unlocked multiplier without paying £775
     
  12. Iraklis F.C.

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Nov 2003

    Posts: 6,433

    Location: Thessaloniki

    u must know that intel have withdrawn all the chipz from Ebay and bared the massive sales of ES's from xtremeS , also it urged the people who granted access to them to STOP selling them. as i said they have a reason for this and i dont think it is hardware failures.


    besides if it is a design problem they wouldnt have the time to fix it, its not a made in china toy these chips :D
     
  13. dafloppyone

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Jun 2006

    Posts: 2,183

    Location: Amsterdam

    says just engineering samples so its cool
     
  14. lay-z-boy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 9,231

    Location: Nantwich

    could be one of the two or both reasons.

    A) Intel dont seem to like normal people with ES chips, i know my uncle got cheesed off when i got my hands on a gallatin ES (works at intel)

    B) They dont want people with faulty chips.
     
  15. Digital Punk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Aug 2004

    Posts: 1,978

    Location: In a bar, gettin' ******

    I do. They're just exactly what they say they are. Engineering samples, bugs 'n' all!!!


    I guess you mean the problem with Raid 5 on the 975BX boards, when CPU load goes through the roof?

    I thought it was more down to a chipset problem, but you never know, maybe it was the cpu. :eek:
     
  16. Corasik

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,002

    Location: West Midlands

    If it was a chipset problem, then P4 owners with 975X boards would have already notice this surely. If its a 'compatibility' issue between 975X chipset and Conroe, then it may well be something 'fixable' in a stepping refresh.

    Hopefully this is what the C2 will improve on anyway.
     
  17. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,806

    Location: Autonomy

    hmm.

    scare mongering.INTEL dont want people to have chips before release.

    mines a B1 and has no issues.

    Please....they will change B1 to B2 18 days before release? lmao :D

    please don't fall into the intel (web romance) conroe trap lol!

    will be interesting if the retail E6600 does 3.4ghz on stock volts.
     
    Last edited: 8 Jul 2006
  18. SiriusB

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,448

    Location: Manchester

    It may be due to company image rather than worrying about people getting dirt cheap Conroes. If lots of people have the engineering samples that opens the door to lots of people potentially having problems due to bugs and other suprises found in an ES chip.

    It wouldn't look good for Intel if lots of people are saying Conroe is buggy and isn't worth the silicon it's printed on.

    I am sure this is not the only reason but I would be shocked if someone at Intel hasn't thought of this :D

    SiriusB
     
  19. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,806

    Location: Autonomy

    After miilions of $ spent in making the chips ... doubt INTEL would be daft enough to release a media testing chip on the pc media reviewers unless it would impress.

    and then weeks later reform the chip at the last min due to problems.lmao
     
  20. mr poo

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Jun 2006

    Posts: 104

    Looks like the G965 mobos aren't going to be ready for conroe release date according to that article as well :(