1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Convert logo to 300dpi?

Discussion in 'HTML, Graphics & Programming' started by Draeger, 26 Sep 2009.

  1. Draeger

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Feb 2004

    Posts: 12,864

    Location: Falkirk, Scotland

    Hi folks,

    I have a 500 x 68px web logo here I need to convert from 72dpi to 300dpi for print.

    I've used PS CS3 to open the logo, go to Image>Image Size and then simply untick "Rescale Image" and change the dpi value to 300 and then save as a jpg.

    Is that sufficient for printing?.
     
  2. Inquisitor

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Apr 2004

    Posts: 11,788

    Location: Birmingham

    The DPI resolution is simply a scale factor between physical dimensions and pixel dimensions; the resolution isn't an inherent property of an image and you can't just "convert" it. When people say an image should be at least 300dpi for print, what this means is that the pixel dimensions of the image should be sufficient to produce whatever physical dimensions you want at 300dpi. If they're not then there's nothing you can do about it, short of finding a bigger copy of the image.

    If it's 500 x 68, then at 300dpi the image will be about 42mm x 6mm. See here for a calculator.
     
    Last edited: 26 Sep 2009
  3. Tripnologist

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 May 2007

    Posts: 3,894

    Location: Bristol

    Exactly, open photoshop, open new, set the dimensions to what size you want to print at and change the DPI to 300. That's how big your logo should be without upscaling it.

    You'll need a vector copy of your logo to do that.
     
  4. Draeger

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Feb 2004

    Posts: 12,864

    Location: Falkirk, Scotland

    Cheers guys, looks like I'm going to have to redo the logo from scratch to get the correct size required. :rolleyes:
     
  5. reflux

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Nov 2007

    Posts: 12,835

    Location: Enfield

    Yeah, it's a right pain. I've been there before. If you're going to use a logo for print, always design it in Illustrator or a vector graphics app if you can.
     
  6. Draeger

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Feb 2004

    Posts: 12,864

    Location: Falkirk, Scotland

    Thanks for the tip.

    The problem being is the guy who I did the website for didn't ask for the logo in both web and print form at the start.

    Then he emails me out of the blue on Tuesday to say he urgently needs a 300dpi version for his printer today for some exhibition stand he has hired for this weekend.

    Talk about short notice. :rolleyes:
     
  7. Tripnologist

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 May 2007

    Posts: 3,894

    Location: Bristol

    To be fair though mate, logos should always be done vector.
     
  8. Draeger

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Feb 2004

    Posts: 12,864

    Location: Falkirk, Scotland

    Duly noted. :p
     
  9. whitecrook

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 22 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,367

    Location: Clydebank

    it's always better to design big and scale down.
     
  10. Draeger

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Feb 2004

    Posts: 12,864

    Location: Falkirk, Scotland

    Never thought of logo design in that way before, but that is absolutely cracking advice, cheers. ;)