1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coolermaster Dominator II Advanced Build

Discussion in 'Case Central' started by Bradmax57, 20 Feb 2010.

  1. Bradmax57

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 13 Dec 2002

    Posts: 7,615

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    So my Coolermaster Dominator II arrived today, I already had the radiator, cpu block and pump/res, was hoping the gpu block would have arrived but no such luck, being impatient i started the build anyway would just carefully put the cpu in the loop after it arrived.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Bradmax57

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 13 Dec 2002

    Posts: 7,615

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    Started to fit a couple of bits and pieces to size things up

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Bradmax57

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 13 Dec 2002

    Posts: 7,615

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    But stupidly i never thought about the thickness of the thermochill rad...... its fouling the mobo and its also too big to mount in the bottom of the case :( gutted to say the least as im now stuck with my netbook till i get a thinner rad (too lazy to refit the air cooler), ill get something ordered on monday as the only local shop that sells wc bits appears to have only 120 or 360 rads :(

    Oh well this is how it is for now, quite like the case tho :)

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Bradmax57

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 13 Dec 2002

    Posts: 7,615

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    When money permits i guess ill have to buy a nicer rampage iii mobo or something that suits the black better, the matx looks a tad lost in there
     
  5. Brizzles

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 16 Mar 2005

    Posts: 7,526

    Location: Clevedon , Bristol

    What ram are you using ?
     
  6. Bradmax57

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 13 Dec 2002

    Posts: 7,615

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    Its the patriot 4gb on this week only that arrived today :) yes it was catching on them but also on the mosfet cooler on the mobo, so I think ill just get 2 x 240 rads of about 35mm thickness rather than 60mm and fit one at the top and one at the bottom
     
  7. freezin8472

    Associate

    Joined: 31 Jan 2010

    Posts: 67

    Nice case. I am considering it for my build. Is that the 5850 in there?
     
  8. Bradmax57

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 13 Dec 2002

    Posts: 7,615

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    It is yeah so plenty of room, i believe a 5970 will fit but only just................
     
  9. b3mor

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Aug 2007

    Posts: 269

    Can I ask what that front panel interface is? It almost looks like the backplate off a motherboard. I like it...

    Looks a very nice tidy build, look forward to seeing the end result!
     
  10. Frozennova

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Nov 2009

    Posts: 11,436

    Location: Northampton

    Glad to see a build in one of these as I plan in picking one up shortly, if 60mm rads are out the the question on top I guess one of the swiftech models would be more suitable.

    As far as fitting the 60mm rad in the bottom what is the issue space between psu and rad?
     
  11. Stripes

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Feb 2010

    Posts: 325

    Location: Hants, UK

    Looks like one of these:

    Hiyatek HY-CR-722es
     
  12. Bradmax57

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 13 Dec 2002

    Posts: 7,615

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    Thats the one, about £10 from another place

    I think about 35mm rads are fine, im gonna get 2 xspc rs240's have one at the top and one at the bottom. The thermochill is also slightly longer than others so i couldnt get my power connectors into my psu
     
  13. DIABLO

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,491

    Location: N.Devon

    You could mount the rad on the top of the case outside if you did'nt mind a less clean look.
     
  14. Bradmax57

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 13 Dec 2002

    Posts: 7,615

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    You could but you wouldnt be able to fit the top panel back on which also houses the usb ports and power buttons etc
     
  15. Bradmax57

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 13 Dec 2002

    Posts: 7,615

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    Next part has just arrived :)
    [​IMG]
    Just need to pop out and pick up a radiator from a mate :)
     
  16. Bradmax57

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 13 Dec 2002

    Posts: 7,615

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    all bits now purchased ;)

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Soylent Red

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Oct 2009

    Posts: 264

    Wow, I want to swap my Dominator I now! :(
     
  18. TomCooksey

    Associate

    Joined: 20 Feb 2010

    Posts: 7

    That looks sweet! :)

    Any chance of measuring the gap between the top of the motherboard and the top of the case? I've been looking for a case (see http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18117226) which has a decent amount of clearance (~10cm would do) for a rad/duct/fan and looking at your photos, this case might be a winner!
     
  19. TomCooksey

    Associate

    Joined: 20 Feb 2010

    Posts: 7

    Just noticed your later post about rad fouling the mboard... exactly the problem I was worried about! It would still be nice to know the measured clearence if you wouldn't mind?
     
  20. Technics

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Jun 2009

    Posts: 424

    Location: Nottingham

    nice clean build there, but that mobo sure does looks tiny in that case!