1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CoolerMaster Praetorian 732

Discussion in 'Case Central' started by Roduga, 3 Mar 2006.

  1. Roduga

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2004

    Posts: 3,582

    Location: Newbury, UK

    What is the verdict on these? I'm guessing the 2 80mm fans on the back make a bit of a racket, are they OK for cooling? :D
     
  2. Yewen

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2003

    Posts: 17,719

    Location: Leeds

    The cooling is quite good, and the case is surprisingly easy to make quiet.

    Its basically a updated ATCS 201 chasis with a side blowhole and front 120mm fans, so it cools very well.

    If you replace the fans with ones of your own choice, this case could be very quiet, I have not replaced fans on the case though, so cannot do a exact recommendation but I imagine any fans at 5v/7v such as the 120mm ambers + 80mm zalmans should be nice and quiet with good cooling just by the mass of air being moved.
     
  3. ajgoodfellow

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Dec 2004

    Posts: 11,343

    Location: Shirley, Solihull, UK

    Depnding on your system requirements you might not need all of the fans

    On my current system I only have one case fan at the back, an Akasa Amber 120mm @ 630rpm
     
  4. Roduga

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2004

    Posts: 3,582

    Location: Newbury, UK

    Inside will be:

    AMD Opteron UP 175 Dual Core San Diego 2.2GHz 2MB Cache (Socket 939)
    DFI LanParty UT NF4 Ultra-D (Socket 939) PCI-Express Motherboard
    Connect3D ATI Radeon X1900 XT-X 512MB GDDR3 AVIVO TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express)
    Western Digital Caviar SE16 320GB 3200KS SATA-II 16MB Cache -
    NEC ND4551 16x16 DVD±RW Dual Layer LabelFlash ReWriter (Black) - OEM
    Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro CPU Cooler (Socket 754/939/940)
    Enermax Liberty 500W ELT500AWT ATX2.2 Modular SLI Compliant PSU
    OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Dual Channel Platinum Series EL-DDR CAS2
     
  5. ajgoodfellow

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Dec 2004

    Posts: 11,343

    Location: Shirley, Solihull, UK

    Hi

    That'll be a nice rig and you won't need more than just an exhaust fan, even if you're overclocking.

    The chipset fan on the DFI motheboard is very noisy so I'd bare that in mind if you're looking for a quiet PC
     
  6. Noni

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 4 Nov 2005

    Posts: 742

    What do you think you need all of the fans for then? Thats a very hot powerful system and I highly reccomend using the 2x80mm front fans. Volt them down, but definatly use them.

    Keep the back exhaust fan and more importantly, keep the top exhaust fan.

    Volt all the fans down.
     
  7. Yewen

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2003

    Posts: 17,719

    Location: Leeds

    Noni its based on the old ATCS 201 case, it will need one for extraction, and depending on hard drives one intake.

    Remember the case its based on can run passive with quite acceptable temperatures so ajgoodfellow is completely correct in what he said there, will be fine.

    BUT

    There are the fans, volt them down as noni says, and it will cool slightly better, with the same noise levels. However you could get away with one exhaust quite easily.
     
  8. Roduga

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2004

    Posts: 3,582

    Location: Newbury, UK

    Right-o, I'm a little confused. :D I have it sat on my desk and am just about to order the rest of the gear. Do I add a 120 on the side door? Replace the IO panel at the top with a 80? Or leave it as it is? My room gets forking hot so I'm a little worried...
     
  9. Yewen

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2003

    Posts: 17,719

    Location: Leeds

    The most difference you will see is by using the top 80mm blowhole fan.
     
  10. Roduga

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2004

    Posts: 3,582

    Location: Newbury, UK

    Cool, top fan it is.
     
  11. Noni

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 4 Nov 2005

    Posts: 742

    Post pics :)
     
  12. Roduga

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2004

    Posts: 3,582

    Location: Newbury, UK

    Well, I will do if you want. Just placed the order for the rest of the gear, Tuesday should (hopefully) be the day.

    I hope I haven't forgotten anything...
     
  13. Noni

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 4 Nov 2005

    Posts: 742

    Gwaan :)
     
  14. Roduga

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2004

    Posts: 3,582

    Location: Newbury, UK

    She's all installed, except the power LED doesn't come on. Not sure why as I matched up the +/- on the board. Any ideas?
     
  15. Yewen

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2003

    Posts: 17,719

    Location: Leeds

    Try it the other way round, sometimes they have them wired up wrong :(
     
  16. Roduga

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2004

    Posts: 3,582

    Location: Newbury, UK

    Bingo! Cheers Yewen, you are a star.
     
  17. Yewen

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2003

    Posts: 17,719

    Location: Leeds

    I had the same problem and it had me baffled for about 15 minutes, ever since if they dont work I just switch them first.

    My v1000 that I used to have had the problem, or more to the fact that both wires were the same colour, and there was no printing on the connector.

    Lian Li offered a full exchange, but I declined it as it was such a trivial problem.

    Glad it was that simple :)