1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

corrupt file

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Lakeland, 29 Jan 2006.

  1. Lakeland

    Soldato

    Joined: 1 Nov 2005

    Posts: 5,481

    after ive downloaded a program off the net and tried to install it keeps saying file corrupt, this has happened with media player 10, apple quicktime and a sound forge file (all off official sites)

    when i try to install something off a cd it says there is an error,

    ive only just done a format (hd is partitioned, only did c: drive) and installed security updates which im having a lot of bother with, could this be something to do with it or is it cause i didnt do a full format of my hd?
     
  2. 8 I3ALL

    Hitman

    Joined: 29 Sep 2004

    Posts: 598

    Location: Mildenhall

    are you using a download manager or just the default IE one ?
     
  3. Fr0dders

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 33,275

    Location: West Yorks

    its unlikely to be because you didnt do the full format, i allways use the quick format

    if your getting errors with everything you download, could it be your Hard drive is on its way out

    could you add on a slave drave and download stuff to that and see if the files still get corrupted ?
     
  4. Lakeland

    Soldato

    Joined: 1 Nov 2005

    Posts: 5,481

    ive only got the one sata hd, and its a maxtor so that might be the problem, im having bother with it hanging when it starts up, and sometimes its says boot disc error (think thats what it says)

    its only about a month old :(

    can i rma this drive and get a refund to purchase a more reliable one?

    edit: im using the default IE one
     
    Last edited: 31 Jan 2006
  5. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    Could be memory failure, run MemTest (Windows) and/or Memtest86+ (Bootable Floppy/CD)

    Or run Prime95 to test the complete system stability
     
  6. Lakeland

    Soldato

    Joined: 1 Nov 2005

    Posts: 5,481

    this is getting very annoying now. i downloaded £20 worth of music from a download site lastnight and they have skips in them...

    ive ran both tests and they come back clear. (ive tried differant ram aswel as testing)


    if its any more help my spec is:

    opteron 148 (not overclocked)
    asus a8ne
    160 gb maxtor sata (partitioned c: 60gb (using 7gb so far) d:100gb)
    aeroflower 9500 cooler
    x800 gto2 graphics card
    tagen 580w
    windows xp pro sp2
     
  7. Lakeland

    Soldato

    Joined: 1 Nov 2005

    Posts: 5,481

    now i cant watch video streams (although i can hear fine) they either dont show at all or come up as pink and other colours, i can sort of make out the image but something is going wrong somewhere??
     
  8. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    Try to get Maxtor Powermax utility to work.